Cheesy Tomato Pie

I have never been a true tomato fan.  I order my Double Double with no tomatoes, I pick out the tomatoes in my salads and I prefer my turkey sandwich unaccompanied by tomatoes.  I do enjoy tomato sauce and will occasionally take pleasure in a fresh Caprese salad or sandwich.  I think my main issue with tomatoes is when they are mixed up with other stuff.

As a recipient of a weekly organic produce box, you don’t get to choose what they bring you.  They deliver whatever is in season.  And in the summer that means tomatoes every week.  So in an effort to be resourceful, I took to Pinterest and found some creative ways to utilize my fresh tomatoes…mostly in the form of homemade tomato sauce…but you can only eat so much spaghetti!

A few months ago I got an email from Buns in My Oven, a blog I follow.  The recipe was for Tomato and Corn Pie.  I was so excited because I had just received corn and tomatoes in my weekly box.  I had never had a savory pie before.  I showed my husband the recipe, as I always do before I embark on a new culinary adventure, and he agreed to try it.  I gave him a small slice, and he went back for seconds and maybe even thirds.  I decided to make another one for a mommy potluck I attended and I received so many compliments on it.  I was happy to find a yummy new way to use my tomatoes.

I received another batch of tomatoes this week.  I had just made the Tomato and Corn Pie the week earlier and wanted to try a different tomato pie recipe.  I started searching and found this, Tomato, Cheddar and Bacon Pie.  I was sold by the word Bacon alone, I mean, really, who doesn’t love Bacon!  After reading the recipe further I was disappointed to find out that it’s actually not part of the pie at all, but rather a suggested protein to be served alongside the pie.  But the recipe still looked promising and I needed to get rid of these tomatoes so I gave it a shot…and the result…was delish!


I choose to serve it without the bacon, because I already ate some with my french toast this morning :)  The pie was a yummy side dish to our main course and my husband is excited to bring the leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Cheesy Tomato Pie

  1. erika says:

    Oh my gosh everything that you make looks so yummy!!! Love your blog :)

Leave a Reply

