The Best French Toast

Growing up, my mom was the cook of the family.  She would make delicious dinners, sinful desserts and yummy after school snacks. My dad would help out from time to time and throw some meat on the grill, but one thing that my dad was famous for was his french toast.

Up until now it has been a secret recipe.  But recently he leaked the secret to my husband who then passed the secret on to me.  In an attempt to satisfy my husbands french toast craving one morning, I met the challenge to recreate my dad’s french toast.  However, in the process, I think I came up with an even better variation :)

The two biggest secrets to my dad’s french toast were his 1) choice of bread and 2) amount of cinnamon he used.

I always loved the bread that my dad used, Oroweat’s 3 Seed Bread Oatnut.  It gave an extra crunch to the french toast with poppy seeds, sunflower seeds and sesame seeds.  For some reason this bread is hard to find, so my dad was ecstatic when he found it at Costco and could buy it in bulk.  The day I went shopping for some 3 Seed Bread, I came upon a new and exciting discovery…

The moment I saw it I was inspired…I know this bread would make the best french toast!

So I started gathering my ingredients together, of which there are only a few.  In an attempt to put my own spin on it, I added a few new ones that I thought would enrich the flavor a bit.

Ingredients: 

1 Loaf of Bread (I prefer FiberOne Oatmeal Bread, but you can use whatever you have on hand)

1 dozen eggs

1/2 tablespoon Ground Cinnamon

1/3 cup milk (I like Almond Breeze Unsweetened Vanilla, but cows milk or soy will work also)

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, divided

My dad always made sure to use one egg per slice of bread.  This ensures that the bread gets soggy enough which is a true sign of good french toast!  I added the almond milk and vanilla extract to my dads recipe because I thought it added a new dimension of flavor.

Preparation:

1.  Heat griddle over medium heat (I prefer to use this one)

2.  Crack eggs into a large dish (I like to use this one).  Sprinkle cinnamon over eggs.  Add milk and vanilla extract.  Whisk until combined.  Place bread into egg mixture and soak for 30-45 seconds.  Flip and repeat.  While you are waiting for the other side of the bread to soak, melt 1 tablespoon of butter on the griddle.

3.  Place soaked bread on buttered griddle and cook for 45 seconds to 1 minute until brown and crisp, flip and repeat.

4.  Enjoy!  I like to dress my french toast with fresh berries and warm maple syrup.  

   Melting Moments

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “The Best French Toast

  1. Sounds and looks perfect to me! MMM! I don’t use anything but healthy bread for our eating…will have to scout out some of this bread…haven’t seen it yet. Thanks so much for sharing at Breakfast Ideas Monday.

  2. You’ve been featured in this week’s Breakfast Ideas Mondays! Thanks for your submission and hope to see you again soon! http://www.yummyinspirations.net/2012/05/breakfast-ideas-mondays-3.html

  3. Yum! This looks great. Thanks for sharing at Sunday Sweeties Linky :)

Leave a Reply

