The Ultimate Guacamole

When I grow up I want to cook as well as my brother.  I was so lucky to live with him for a year before I got married.  We had lots of fun together.  I became so spoiled by his delicious food.  And he made it look so easy.  He rarely followed recipes and had great creativity when coming up with new dishes.

One of the things I would beg him to make on a regular basis was his amazing guacamole.  Before I moved out he offered to teach me how to make it on my own.  Now my husband begs me to make it on a regular basis.  (I think it is important to mention that my husband strongly dislikes avocados in real life, and will only eat my guacamole…nice compliment)

I love to make mexican food when I have company.  The guacamole is always a big hit as an appetizer.  In fact, as the host I rarely get any because I am always busy cooking and by the time I sit down to eat, it’s gone…but thats a good sign right?

Because my brother pretty much wings it in the kitchen, he didn’t have a recipe to share with me for his amazing guacamole.  He would just throw in a little of this and a little of that…taste…and then add whatever he felt was lacking.  Hence, that is the way I make my guacamole.  But in an effort to share the “non-recipe” with you, I used some measurements that seem to get the result I was looking for.  Feel free to improvise…it always seems to come out perfect if you trust your cooking senses.

Ingredients:

5-6 Avocados pitted, peeled and cubed

1/4 cup red onion finely diced

2 tablespoons lime juice

1 teaspoon garlic

3/4 teaspoon jalapeno finely diced (more if you like the heat, but I don’t like the heat)

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon ground pepper

Preparation:

1.  Add ingredients to a medium sized bowl.

2.  Mix gently with a fork, mashing avocado slightly while keeping some chunks.

3.  Cover with plastic wrap, leaving no empty air between the top of the bowl and the guacamole.

4.  Refrigerate for 20-30 minutes to allow the flavors to meld.

5.  Enjoy!

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Guacamole

  1. Love your Guac! It is the best…:)

  2. Linda L. Statz says:

    Heather, I have really enjoyed reading your blog (copied some recipes) and thoroughly intrigued by the Moby wrap. You inherited your father’s gift with a pen ((or computer) for writing. Love, Cousin, Linda L. Statz, Holyoke CO

Leave a Reply

