Reunited and It Feels So Good

I just got home from my 10 year high school reunion.  It was a bit of a whirlwind but overall it was really nice to catch up with everyone.

When I first got the invitation, I had no idea what to expect.  To be honest, the notion of being around people I had not seen/spoken to in 10 years made me a bit anxious.  But at the same time, there was no way I was going to miss it.  I was excited to see where life had taken everyone.

The whole evening was a bit surreal.  The night started out in our school library for cocktails (well water for me!).  It was a strange feeling to be in a familiar physical space, with familiar people who are living completely different lives since that last time you shared that physical space.  Now, instead of helping each other with homework, we were all talking about what people were doing for work, who people were married to and which people had babies.  It is amazing what my classmates have done with their lives.  We have professors, therapists, producers, designers, filmmakers, actresses, lawyers, teachers, nurses…and the list goes on and on!  I was grateful to be in their presence.  And the more we sat and talked, the more it felt like old times.

Reunions are a great way to check in with others and see what people are up to.  But it is also a great way to check up on yourself.  Coming back to home base helped me to see how far I have come.  It helped to put my life in perspective and appreciate all that I have accomplished.

On our graduation night, our families put one item in a time capsule.  The idea was that this item would symbolize the next 10 years of your life until we were to meet again at our reunion.  The craziest part of this exercise is that my mom submitted these…

…Baby Air Max 95.  The story behind the shoes is that in high school I was an avid shoe collector.  I had these shoes in every color.  I think that amounted to something ridiculous like 65 pairs.  So in an attempt to keep the tradition going, my mom thought it would be cute to get a pair for my future baby.  Well her timing was perfect because exactly 10 years later I actually have a baby who can wear them!

Who knows what the next ten years will bring, but I am already looking forward our 20 year reunion.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Reunited and It Feels So Good

  1. Jennie says:

    Oh the shoe collection!! I remember it well!!!

Leave a Reply

