The Perfect Pancakes

There is nothing more delicious than yummy carbs for breakfast.  Waffles, French Toast, Pancakes…you can’t go wrong.  This morning I was in the mood for some homemade pancakes.  I opened my cupboard to find that all the pancake mix was gone.  Determined to satisfy my craving, I quickly turned to Google, and found the answer to my pancake prayers… Old Fashioned Homemade Pancakes Recipe by My Wooden Spoon.  I read over the list of ingredients and had every single one!  So I embarked on my first ever attempt at homemade pancakes.

Ingredients:

1 Extra Large Egg (her recipe called for 1 egg…this is what I had in my fridge)

1 Cup Flour

3/4 Cup Milk (I used a combination of 1/2 Cup Fat Free Cow’s Milk and 1/4 Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk)

2 Tablespoons Vegetable Oil

1 Tablespoon Sugar

3 Teaspoons Baking Powder

1/2 Teaspoon Kosher Salt

Splash of Vanilla Extract

Preparation:

Start by mixing the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.  Once combined, add the wet ingredients and stir until smooth.  Heat  a small non-stick pan over medium heat.  Mist lightly with cooking spray.  Using a 1/4 cup dry measuring cup, pour batter into the center of the pan.  Cook for about 1 minute, until the center starts to bubble and the sides start to curl, then flip.  Cook for an additional 45 seconds.  Repeat with the rest of the batter.

I like to make one pancake at a time because then I can ensure that they are each cooked evenly.  If you would rather cook the whole batch at once you can use a griddle instead.  This recipe, using the 1/4 cup measure, yields 7 pancakes.

I enjoy my pancakes with pure maple syrup and bacon on the side.  Breakfast of champions :)

Tagged ,

8 thoughts on “The Perfect Pancakes

  1. Yummy mommy!! Great pancakes!!!

    • inherchucks says:

      Thank you my dear :) I am glad you like them…I should have known when I went to take my pictures and there was a large bite taken out of them…guess they looked too good to resist!

  2. Yum! The pancakes do look perfect! Thanks for linking up at Breakfast Ideas Mondays!

  3. Lauren says:

    Mmmm… I love pancakes, and I haven’t made them in way too long! I know what we’re having this weekend…

  4. Ann says:

    Oh my! We had these pancakes this morning ~ so good! My boys loved them and I’ve never made pancakes that looked so nice and fluffy. Thanks for the inspiration Heather!

Leave a Reply

