Babies Making Music

Yep…that’s right!  Babies CAN make music.  In fact, babies sing before they talk, and dance before they walk.  Research has shown that babies, from fetus to toddler, respond intuitively to music.

I am grateful to have been exposed to music all of my life.  I grew up singing, playing the piano and guitar.  Music has played a major role in shaping who I am today.

It has always been a passion of mine to share my love for music with others.  Before I got married and started a family I taught music to babies, toddlers and pre-school children for many years.  People were always amazed when I told them what I did for a living.  They could never understand what type of music I could be teaching to children that young.  Truth be told, before I became a music teacher I had the same questions.  But thanks to Lynn Kleiner’s Music Rhapsody, I was introduced to the Orff Method.

In a nutshell, the Orff Method focuses on teaching the basic foundations of music through fun, interactive activities such as singing, dancing and playing games.  It likens learning music to the way we learn a language, hearing and creating first, reading and writing later.  This is why the Orff Method is an appropriate approach to teaching babies music.  The simple exposure and exploration of music, helps to instill musical fundamentals that bear multiple benefits beyond music itself.  For example, music has a dramatic impact on a child’s language development, body awareness, memorization as well as math and literacy skills.  And of course, music is very valuable for the joy of music itself.

When I had my daughter, I was excited to share the gift of music with her.  Being that her father is a drummer, she has the music bug coming from both sides.  And boy does it show!  Harper is very responsive to music.  She loves to sing and be sung to.  She enjoys blowing on her whistle, banging her drum and shaking her bells.  Harper loves the musical activities I do with her so much, we wanted to share them with her friends.  So I started teaching music to a small group of mommies and babies a few times a week.  I am so happy to be passing on this wonderful music knowledge to others.  My favorite part is when my mommy friends come to me and tell me how much a particular activity was useful to them in calming their baby, or how they are beginning to see improvement in their babies language development or coordination.  That my friends, is success :)

Tagged

4 thoughts on “Babies Making Music

  1. Heather, I wish there was a ‘Like’ button on your blog…OK, I’ll give it a 10…I can dance to it…:)

    Love,

    Dad

  2. Ann Endress says:

    ditto! Wish there was a “like” button! well done. We love your music class! Ann & Zac

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Ann…LOVE making music with you and Zac every week. It has been such a joy to watch Zac grow and become a little musician. Looking forward to many more years together :)

Leave a Reply

