Homemade Tomato Sauce

Remember all those tomatoes I was telling you about…well I think I have finally received my last batch.  And this time I am turning to an old favorite…

Growing up my family and the Wilson family were very close.  I met Price when I was in preschool.  It was love at first bite…she took a nice chomp on my arm the first day of preschool.  After that we were best friends.  We would have play dates regularly, and more often than not, we would share a meal together.  Lucky for me, Price’s mom Charters was an amazing cook.  Everything she made was fresh, healthy and delicious!  One of my favorite dishes was her Homemade Tomato Sauce.  It is light, refreshing and bursting with flavor.

Ingredients:

4 medium tomatoes, peeled and chopped

1 onion, chopped

2 large cloves garlic, finely chopped

3 tablespoon tomato paste

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

Salt and pepper to taste

Preparation:

Heat oil and butter in a medium sauce pan over medium high heat.  Add onions and garlic and sauté until soft, adding a pinch of salt and pepper to help bring out the flavors.  Stir in the tomato paste until combined.  Then add tomatoes and simmer for about 15 minutes, adding more salt and pepper to taste if desired.  When the tomatoes are done simmering, puree the sauce in a blender or food processor to create a smoother texture.  If you prefer a chunkier consistency, leave the sauce as it is.  Toss with your favorite cooked pasta and serve!

If you are looking for a more complex flavor profile, feel free to be creative and add your favorite fresh or dried herbs.  I happen to appreciate the simplicity of the sauce and find the marriage of the tomatoes, onions and garlic to be pleasing to my palate.

What I love most about homemade dishes, is that they tend to be surprisingly easy to make and cheaper than store bought alternatives.  By preparing your favorite foods at home you decide what ingredients to use so you don't have to worry about unnecessary additives or preservatives.  Knowing what you are putting in your body makes you feel good.  And when you can eat well with food that tastes great everyone wins :)
Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Homemade Tomato Sauce

Leave a Reply

