What is Kohlrabi?

Funny you should ask…because until last week, I had never heard of such a thing.

Apparently kohlrabi is a vegetable.  It is related to the cabbage but has a flavor that resembles something more like broccoli or Brussels sprouts.  The name kohlrabi comes from the German words “kohl” meaning cabbage and “rabi” meaning turnip.  And really, that is exactly what it is.

Kohlrabi is a not a very common vegetable in America.  It is unlikely you will find kohlrabi in the produce section of the grocery store.  Which is why I think I have never seen it before.  Kohlrabi is probably best found at farmers markets or local produce stands.  I, of course, received my kohlrabi in my produce box.

Since I had never seen or heard of kohlrabi, I had absolutely no idea what to do with it.  My produce box always comes with suggested recipes, which come in handy.  In this case, they recommended I bake the kohlrabi with some parmesan cheese.  This idea sounded good until I came across a recipe for Kohlrabi Ham Bake on Simply Recipes which I knew was more up my husband’s alley.  Getting him to try new things is hard, but if I incorporate them with ingredients he loves, he usually ends up liking it.

Here is the final product (except mine didn’t look nearly as colorful as this, which is why I decided to use the picture directly from the site…way more appetizing!)

The experiment was a success.  Freddie even asked for seconds!  I served it alongside a fresh butter lettuce salad with pomegranate seeds, carrots, celery, pecans and white wine vinaigrette.  A fulfilling meal.

So if you are in the mood to try something new, step outside of your comfort zone and give kohlrabi a chance :)

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

