Meet the Flintstones

I never imagined the pressure I felt when it was time to pick out a Halloween costume for Harper.  I mean, this is an important memory for her to reflect on for years to come so it had to be a good one.  My goal was to make sure the teenage Harper didn’t look back at the photos and say, “Mooooom!”

My first thought was to dress her up as a butterfly.  That was the theme for my baby shower and it carried over into her nursery.  But I couldn’t seem to find the right costume.  We ordered a few from Amazon but they were either too big, would be too hot or not warm enough.  So we ended up returning all of them.

Our next thought was having the whole family dress up in a theme.  This idea marked a huge milestone in my relationship with Freddie.  For the nearly 7 years that we have been together we have never dressed up for Halloween.  No particular reason, I guess we just never got around to it.  But now that we have a kid, I feel like in order to fully enjoy the holiday as a family, everyone must participate.  It didn’t take long to realize, duh, The Flintstones…it’s a perfect match!  My husband’s name is Fred, we have a baby girl, and who doesn’t have a pet dinosaur…oh wait!  Well, 2 out of 3 ain’t bad.

The search for the costumes was on.  Freddie and I found our costumes pretty easily.  But funny enough, there were no Pebbles costumes in Harper’s size.  Just when I thought we were the first genius’s to come up with this amazing idea, I came across this…

…the most adorable handmade Pebbles costume by RaeGun on Etsy.  It was exactly what I was looking for.  I was thrilled.  And it even came with an adorable bone clip for her hair.

Harper debuted her costume at our mommy group on Friday.  It was so fun to see all the babies dressed up.

On Sunday, we met some of our friends at a Halloween Celebration held in the park.  This time the whole family dressed up.  We were excited to see that they had a photo booth there so we could snap a pic of this inaugural occasion.

Meet the Flintstones!

Hope you all had a safe and Happy Halloween!  Already planning our costumes for next year :)

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Meet the Flintstones

  1. Love this! – Ahem…Mr. Mercer, you are out of uniform…what with the watch?

    :)

    Love,

    Dad

  2. Freddie Mercer says:

    I used the watch to make sure we could get back to Bedrock in time to watch my Eagles beat up on the Cowgirls, sorry cowboys. We needed to make sure we left plenty of time to travel. While our footmobile gets great gas mileage, it tops out at 2MPH. Hey, I can’t peddle any faster than that.

    Love ya! Yabba Dabba Doo

  3. Courtney says:

    This is AWESOME! Thank you for sharing!

  4. marissa says:

    You guys are so so cute! I love being a part of the fun in Harper’s costume.

Leave a Reply

