What’s In the Box? #2

It’s Wednesday, my favorite day of the week.  So, I bet you know what I was busy doing today.  That’s right, patiently awaiting the delivery of my produce box.  It surprised me by coming early today too :)  I could barely carry it inside before I started to open it up.  And when I did, the angels sang…

It was a little taste of Thanksgiving in a box…or at least that’s where my mind went with it.  Seeing celery and carrots together used to remind me of my after school snacks, but now they transport me to Thanksgiving cooking and homemade stuffing.  My brother taught me what a mirepoix was back when we were living together.  Really, it’s just a fancy way of saying “cooking carrots, celery and onion together” but you would be amazed at the difference these three vegetables make as the basis of many recipes.  Since we are still a few weeks out from Thanksgiving, I think I might have to throw them into a homemade chicken soup served with a fresh green salad made with my romaine lettuce (I feel a post coming on…)

Butternut squash screams autumn to me.  I love how versatile it is.  I enjoy cutting it into cubes, tossing it with olive oil, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt and roasting it in the oven.  A perfect side dish!  Apples are a yummy autumn fruit.  We have been getting different varieties in our box weekly.  In fact, we had such an overload of apples last week I decided to make Freddie a homemade apple pie.  It was a new recipe I found on Pinterest and turned out ok, but it wasn’t one of my favorites.  You are welcome to try it out.  Freddie gobbled it up!

Broccoli is an old staple.  It is one of my favorite vegetables.  I was happy to see it in the box because it was one of the vegetables I wanted Harper to try.  Broccoli is an easy side for me.  I prefer it steamed and then tossed with butter, salt, pepper and a little lemon juice.  Whenever I have leftover broccoli from the night before I like to throw it in with some eggs, cheese and a little onion for a breakfast scramble.  I got that idea from my mom!  I will probably serve the broccoli with some beet fritters, Freddie’s new favorite side dish.  They are really good.  I was going to write a post about them, but they aren’t that photogenic.  And well, I happen to always eat with my eyes first.  So you are welcome to check the recipe out on your own.  They are easy to make and delicious to eat.

More mandarins!  Love these little guys.  They are so juicy and sweet, and kind of addicting.  I love to grab one out of the fruit bowl to satisfy a sweet craving, but one is never enough.  I graze on them throughout the day.  They are a great source of vitamin C and better than snacking on an ice cream sandwich (although I had one of those today too!).

I think someone is trying to play a joke on me.  Isn’t tomato season over?  What’s with all the tomatoes!  To be honest, I still haven’t used the ones I got last week…So I guess I am going to be making a big pot of Homemade Tomato Sauce, which doesn’t bum me out one bit.  The last batch went way too quickly.

And finally, what the heck are these things?

I had to refer to my delivery service’s website for this one.  They are called Pepino Melons.  Ever had one?  Well I was eager to find out what they tasted like.  And well, they taste like a melon!  Juicy, refreshing and not too sweet.  This is one of the reasons I love this service.  I get to try new produce I would have never thought to buy before.  If you are not familiar with this fruit, feel free to read more about it, it’s really fascinating!

Well, I am off to do my recipe planning for the week.  Excited for all the amazing possibilities…and I may just have to snack on a pepino melon while I get my thoughts together.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “What’s In the Box? #2

  1. naturallymum says:

    You’ve got me excited about organic veg boxes again! I’ll have to setup my order again now. I had stopped because when I was pregnant I was finding cooking a bit too much but now we’re back on track and I want both the girl’s to experience all different varieties. We do seem to be getting through a lot of veg at the moment, especially with the BLW. Emily will eat a whole butternut squash in one sitting and still ask for more! I’m going to give your roasting recipe a go, I always steam everything. Thank you

    • inherchucks says:

      I have to say, organic veg boxes make eating healthy so easy! And now with our little ones beginning to eat their own fair share of the veggies, its a great way to introduce them to variety. The butternut squash is delish…I am sure you will all enjoy it. I have been told its good to spice up our little one’s food with seasonings such as cinnamon and such…helps develop their palate…and its yummy for the adults too! Let me know how it turns out…I just made some myself!

  2. Mimi Spalding says:

    I am inspired, Heather. I wonder if there is a way that I could order veggie boxes here in D.C.? Where did you get yours from? Keep sharing your recipes! :-)

  3. Courtney says:

    Yes, they are wonderful but a bit much for one person. Mimi, if you find one give it a try! If you find that it is too much produce, then search for a Farmers Market so you can go and pick out what you want and determine the quantity you want as well. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

