Sipping Chicken Soup with Rice

Does anyone else remember this book?

Definitely one of my favs! And whenever I get in the mood to cook some homemade chicken soup, I can’t help but chant the refrain, “Sipping once, sipping twice, sipping chicken soup with rice”.

My mom always made a killer homemade chicken soup.  Of course, like everything else, she made it from scratch.  And more than the delicious taste, this soup warmed you up, cured your cold and comforted your soul.  My mom never followed a recipe.  She just put a little bit of this and a little bit of that and it always turned out just right.  Being that I am more of a stickler for recipes, I went on a quest to find one that would replicate what I remember eating at home.  I have tried a couple here and there but nothing seemed to catch the essence of her creation until now.

I found this particular recipe on Pinterest (where I find most of my recipes these days).  What I love about this site is thatit’s a virtual pin-board filled with tons and tons of pictures.  They have everything from fashion to art to home decor, but I love to look at the food.  When I came across this picture I immediately felt the urge to take a bite.  My tummy got all warm inside and I knew I had to recreate this moment.

Now that we are moving into the colder months, and the temperature is beginning to drop outside, a batch of homemade chicken soup was in order.  Plus, I couldn’t resist with the beautiful bunches of celery and carrots I was delivered this week.  Served with a toasted ciabatta role and a fresh green salad, this meal hit the spot!

Ingredients        

2 (32 ounce) cartons of low sodium chicken broth

1 tablespoon Better Than Bouillon Chicken Base

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 stalks of celery, halved lengthwise & sliced

2 carrots sliced

1 parsnip, chopped

1/2 large yellow/brown onion, diced

2 tablespoons of diced fresh ginger

1 teaspoon of dried thyme

Freshly ground pepper

1 rotisserie chicken, remove bones and skin and cut meat into bite size pieces

Large handful of frozen peas

Large handful of frozen corn

1 tablespoon dried tarragon

1 tablespoon dried parsley

Cooked rice

Salt to taste

Preparation

Heat the broth in a large pot over medium heat.  To the broth add in the chicken base, garlic, celery, carrot, parsnip, onion and ginger.  Sprinkle in thyme and pepper.  Allow to low simmer until vegetables are tender.

Add chicken to the broth with peas, corn, tarragon and parsley.  Simmer until tender.  Season with salt as needed.

I cook my rice in a rice cooker while the soup is simmering and then add the rice to the soup right before I serve it.

Recipe adapted from Deep South Dish

The original recipe gives you tons of options including making your own broth and adding different vegetables.  It also suggests you use a whole chicken or parts.  I decided to go the easy route and use rotisserie chicken because it saves a whole lot of time and tastes just as delicious (plus whole chickens kind of gross me out when they are raw and I have a hard time handling them).  Either way, this is a great template for you to create your own homemade chicken soup.  And when you do, don’t forget the refrain, “Sipping once, sipping twice, sipping chicken soup with rice!”

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Sipping Chicken Soup with Rice

  1. kokostanley says:

    Great pic! Your photos are getting better every post!

  2. This sounds so good! When it gets cold enough here to eat soup again, I’ll be giving this a try! Thank you so much for sharing this at Mom’s Test Meal Mondays!

Leave a Reply

