What’s in the Box? #4

As far as ingredients go, this has got to be my favorite Thanksgiving yet.  Why?  Well, because it is the first year I have received a produce box for Thanksgiving.  And I have to say, it sure beats fighting the crowds at the grocery store!  Plus, its local, handpicked and organic.  What could be better?

Sweet potatoes, garlic and celery.  I was glad to check these veggies off my grocery list.  I can’t wait to start cooking tomorrow and all three of these will be making their way onto the menu.  The garlic will be used in almost everything, the celery in the turkey and stuffing, and the sweet potatoes will be featured in a new recipe I am excited to try.  More details on that tomorrow :)

Since it is just Freddie, the baby and I, I decided to keep the menu for tomorrow pretty short.  We can only eat so many leftovers.  But if we had more people coming to dinner, I would definitely be fixing the butternut squash.  I really can’t get enough of it.  I have been finding so many yummy recipes for it lately, I will probably have to experiment with some of them this week.

I was going to make a homemade apple pie this year, but Freddie voted for a homemade pecan pie instead.  So who knows how I will use these gorgeous green apples.  I made the apple cake Freddie asked for last week, but it was involved in a little accident, and ended up on the floor, upside down, and demolished.  So no post about my poor little cake.  But I can tell you, it was delicious (what?  Ever heard of the 5 second rule?).

I love getting fresh herbs.  There’s nothing like a fragrant bundle of newly picked thyme.  I am sure there are tons of amazing Thanksgiving recipes that use fresh thyme, they just didn’t end up on our menu.  I did however make an amazing Beef Tenderloin a few years back that called for fresh thyme…delish!

I usually always cook my famous green beans for Thanksgiving (as well as for nightly dinners).  But this year, we decided to go a different direction.  Seeing these beauties makes me want to change my mind, but we already have two other veggie dishes.  So, the green beans will sit out for this round.

Are those tomatoes again?  Sigh…my weekly challenge.  Good thing I still have my tomatoes from last week.  I was too busy baking to find time to make tomato sauce.  So now I have no choice.  Looks like I will be whipping up a big batch.  And no matter what I mix it with, I will definitely be serving it alongside a fresh salad.  Butter lettuce is my favorite and is always a nice complement to a spaghetti dish.

And finally, lovin the mandarins again.  I pretty much eat them everyday.  A tasty, refreshing snack.

In keeping with the Thanksgiving spirit, I have to say, I am very grateful to have access to fresh, healthy and nutritious food.  I appreciate all the work that goes in to growing it, harvesting it and delivering it to my door.  And most of all, I am thankful to the elements that conspired together to help my produce to bloom and thrive.  Fresh fruits and veggies makes me one happy girl :)

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

