Green Rice

Everyone that knows me, knows I love to cook.  I rarely need an excuse to get busy in the kitchen.  So when my girlfriend called me the other day and asked me to help her make food for her party, I was all in!  She told me she was making enchiladas and needed me to make something she could serve on the side.  My first thought was to make my famous guacamole but then she told me she was expecting 25 people and I realized that would be A LOT of guacamole!  So she suggested I bring some sort of rice dish, and I was excited to have the prefect recipe :)

Unlike Freddie, who can’t get enough of Mexican rice, I am not the biggest fan.  Usually when I make Mexican food, I serve it with cilantro and lime rice, like the rice you get at Chipotle.  But once I found this recipe, it has become my new favorite staple.

I love to watch cooking shows.  Not only do they teach you about different ingredients and cooking techniques, but they always help to inspire me to try new dishes.  I don’t normally watch Ingrid Hoffmann’s show Simply Delicioso, but I am glad I happened to stumble upon it the day she was sharing this recipe.  When I saw how easy this rice was to make and how beautiful it looked on the plate, I knew I would have to give it a shot.

What I like most about this green rice, is that the idea is unique and fresh yet it has all the delicious flavors you crave from Mexican cuisine.  And my favorite part is that it is not spicy!  I am a huge wimp when it comes to heat so the milder the better for me.  But this rice is so tasty, those who are expecting heat, don’t even miss it.

Ingredients

2 cups chicken broth

2 pasilla peppers (also known as poblano chile peppers), chopped

1 bunch of cilantro, leaves chopped

Salt

3 tablespoons corn oil

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

1 cup jasmine or other long-grain white rice

3 cloves garlic, minced

Freshly ground black pepper

4 scallions, white and pale green parts only, sliced

Preparation

In a blender (I used my Vitamix), warm chicken broth, pasilla peppers, cilantro and 1 teaspoon salt.  Blend until smooth.

In medium saucepan heat corn oil over medium heat.  Saute onion until soft, 2-3 minutes.  Add rice and garlic and cook for another minute.  Add chili puree, cover and bring to boil.  Reduce heat to low, cooking until liquid is absolved and rice is tender, about 15 minutes.

Remove from heat, fluff with fork.  Season with salt and black pepper, to taste.  Garnish with scallions and serve.

Recipe slightly adapted from Ingrid Hoffmann via foodnetwork.com

Since this recipe only yields 4-6 servings, I made 5 batches.  I cooked each batch separately because I wanted to make sure that the rice cooked all the way through and that each batch turned out perfectly.  The recipe is so easy to follow and quick to prepare, I was able to make each batch in no time.

Served on the side of enchiladas, tacos or stuffed in a burrito, this rice is sure to take your favorite Mexican meal to the next level.  And because it is so full of flavor, it’s not limited to a certain cuisine.  It can be enjoyed alongside a roasted chicken breast, piece of fish or accompanied by your favorite veggies.  No matter what you choose to serve it with your taste buds are sure to have a fiesta!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

