Green Cleaning

Everybody’s doing it!  And the good news is, the more people who do it, the better off we will be.  I am talking about going green.

I have been going green for a while now.  I recycle, reuse and reduce.  But my newest project has been “greening” my cleaning.  To be honest, a lot of my inspiration for changing my cleaning products was coupled with the birth of my daughter.  But there’s nothing wrong with killing two birds with one stone, right? (Oh, that’s probably not a very appropriate phrase if we are talking about the environment, huh!).

It hasn’t been easy to rid our house of toxic cleaning chemicals.  Freddie and I like things very clean and in the past that meant bleach, Ajax, and Pine Sol kind of clean.  But what we began to realize is that even though those products might clean on the surface, they are also full of toxic chemicals that leave behind a whole other kind of mess.  So slowly but surely we have been trying greener products and as they have proven themselves worthy, we have invited them to stay.

Here is a short list of some of our favorite cleaning products:

Laundry:  I am proud to say, that I have been green cleaning my laundry for quite some time now.  Even before Harper was born I was into the fragrance free, dye free detergents.  But I recently came across three new products that are not only green but are convenient as well.

1.  I love how there is no mess involved with Dropps.  You literally take the gel pack, drop it in, and your job is done.  Easy as pie!  And not only is the formula environmentally friendly, it leaves absolutely no waste behind, as all packaging is recyclable.  There are many other products out there now that are similar to this type of gel pack design, but do not be fooled.  I have tried many of them and have found Dropps to be the best, hands down.

2.  I have always been a fan of method products.  They are clean, green and safe.  They are also very innovative.  This new detergent bottle is very smart.  And it houses a detergent that is equally as smart.  So you only have to use a few squirts.  Which means, one bottle will last you a long time.  But once you are done with that bottle, you don’t need to throw it away because there is a refill pouch that you can buy to make sure your squirt bottle never runs empty.  No mess, no chemicals…works for me!

3.  I can’t tell you who is right on the dryer sheet debate (whether or not they are good or bad), but I can offer you a delicious alternative.  We all know how much I love Trader Joe’s.  Well, here is yet another product that I can’t get enough of.  I don’t use them all the time, especially when I am washing Harper’s clothes because I worry about the scent being too strong, but I do use them in place of dryer sheets when I clean our clothes and household laundry.  They are a nice way to get a slight bit of fragrance, without all the yucky chemicals.

Kitchen:  The kitchen has been half green for quite a while now.  We have been using green dishwasher detergent since we got married because it was the only detergent we could find that was friendly to our silverware.  Our dish soap is also green.  But some of our newest conversions have been with our countertops and appliances.  A few years back, we moved on from nasty chemicals in the kitchen for more friendly disposable green wipes.  That statement seems to be quite the oxymoron because the solution may be green, but the wipes themselves end up in the trash.  So then I decided to move on to using green sprays but I was still using paper towels.  But I recently began using reusable towels for the kitchen with the spray.  So here are my new favorite green sprays for granite and stainless steel that I use with my reusable towels.

Bathroom:  When it comes to the bathroom, this has always been the room that gets hit with the most toxic chemicals.  But, I am very excited to say that we no longer use any chemicals in the bathroom.  It took us a while to find the right products, but we have finally found some green cleaners that fit our standards.

1.  As you can probably tell, I am in love with method products.  But this might just be my most favorite of all.  The scent is magnificent and it works very well.  This spray comes in the form of wipes as well, but I was finding myself using it so much that it became wasteful to use the wipes.  So now I tend to use a paper towel or reusable towel instead.

2.  This was the first product that I have ever used from Enzyme Fresh Home.  I have to say I was very pleased with the results.  I was not familiar with the enzyme cleaning approach before, but I am definitely a believer now.  In fact, because I was so impressed by its ability to clean, I recently purchased some other products from them which I am excited to try.

3.  I try not to use wipes often because I feel that they can be wasteful, but for small jobs, sometimes a wipe is all you need.  Freddie and I have experimented with probably every brand of disposable wipe out there.  This is by far our favorite.  Not only does it clean well, but the scent is quite pleasant.  And the good news is, the scent is available in some of their other products as well.  J.R. Watkins has been in business forever and has proven themselves to be a quality product.  In fact, they have been making natural products before it was the “in thing”.

Floor:  For the longest time, we used the Swiffer Wet Jet to clean our floors.  Mostly because of the idea that it was disposable and would store without hanging on to too many germs, since traditional mops can hold on to so much bacteria.  But the chemicals in their products were pretty strong.  So we did some research and decided to start using a steam mop.  Not only did we find that this method yielded the cleanest results, but it is also the greenest.

One of the most helpful tools we have found in going green has been online shopping.  Unfortunately, there is a very limited selection of green products in our local stores.  Soap.com has a large selection of green cleaning products and offers 1-2 day free shipping on orders over $39.  Amazon is always a good way to go too.

So where do your cleaning products rate on the green scale?  Check out this website to read reviews on hundreds of products and learn how you can find better alternatives that are green, healthy and safe.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Green Cleaning

  1. Julie D. says:

    I didn’t know about the Good Guide – good to know! I also like the EWG’s Skin Deep, because they list all the ingredients, http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/ I’m going to try out the dishwasher tabs you use because we’ve never had luck with our silverware in the dishwasher (we use ecover tabs currently). Didn’t know about the enzyme cleaning thing either – have you found Naturally It’s Clean somewhere in town, or do you get it online?

    • inherchucks says:

      I am glad you found this helpful. I buy all my stuff online. Soap.com is my favorite. They also have a large assortment of green products including Attitude, which is now by far my favorite brand. I love Naturally It’s clean too. I just got their kitchen cleaner and it works great on the stove and smells delicious!

Leave a Reply

