What’s in the Box? #5

Is it Wednesday already? My, has this past week gone by fast.  So much going on between Thanksgiving, my brother coming home, Harper’s 9 month check up.  Busy, busy, busy.  To be honest, I forgot what day it was until I spotted my delivery man running towards my door with my produce box.  And then I remembered, oh yeah, it’s my favorite day :)

I didn’t have time to scope out all the goods because I was heading out the door to go visit the garden.  But I took a quick peek and I couldn’t help but do a little happy dance (I know, I am a total produce nerd…but I promise you, it never gets old).

I love eating healthy!  It makes me feel so good.  And getting a weekly produce box makes eating healthy fun and exciting.  I have always been grateful for the opportunity to indulge in fresh fruits and veggies, but having my brother around makes me realize how lucky I am.  Being deployed in Afghanistan, my brother hasn’t seen a fresh fruit or veggie for the past 7 months.  So since he has been home, that is what he has been craving the most.

In honor of my brother, I think I will have to enjoy a side of steamed broccoli.  Growing up, that was always his least favorite vegetable.  He couldn’t be excused from the table until he finished his broccoli.  What is so ironic, is that now, he loves broccoli.  During the time we lived together, he taught me a few different ways to make it.  But you can never go wrong with steamed broccoli tossed with a smidge of butter, sprinkled with a pinch of salt and pepper and finished off with a few squirts of lemon juice.  Simply delicious.

Carrots are always a great item to get because they can be used in so many ways.  Our family usually enjoys them raw but tonight I tossed them into a rice pilaf which was a fun new way to eat them.  I also like to shred them in my salads.  And that head of red Romaine lettuce makes me want to whip up a fresh salad on the spot.  As fresh as my salads are now that I enjoy the lettuce from my produce box, I am looking forward to harvesting lettuce from my own garden.  There’s no way you can get more fresh than that!

While I was unpacking the box, Harper and I enjoyed the garden cucumber.  I was disappointed that there was only one because it was so sweet and refreshing, it left me yearning for more.  Harper had a good time gnawing on it.  I have the feeling she has another tooth on its way in, so I bet the cucumber felt good on her gums.

Aren’t those asian pears ginormous!  I almost didn’t recognize them.  With their crisp and crunchy texture they are going to make for a perfect fall snack.  Speaking of fall snacks, those Pink Lady apples are to die for.  I think this is the first time I have ever gotten Pink Ladies in my box.  Can you believe how many varieties of apples there are?  It blows my mind.  And they don’t only look different, they taste different too.  It makes eating apples a lot more exciting, that’s for sure.

Kiwis.  They will forever remind me of being pregnant.  Last year at this time I would get deliveries of kiwis week after week.  The problem was that I had gestational diabetes (GD) and wasn’t allowed to eat them due to their high sugar content.  Unfortunately, Freddie is not a kiwi fan, so I had to find homes for my precious kiwis.  Getting my first delivery of kiwis this year gave me a sense of accomplishment.  It made me feel proud that I was able to get through the GD, have a healthy baby girl, who now, can sit and enjoy eating fresh kiwis with me.  Isn’t the journey of life funny?

Like I mentioned before, I love it when I get ingredients in my box that work together in a recipe.  My first thought when I saw the fennel was for an amazing pork dish Freddie and I enjoy.  And wouldn’t you know it, it calls for cilantro too!  This bunch of cilantro was especially fragrant today.  That’s when you know its super fresh :)

Last, but not least, spaghetti squash.  I have never handled one of these before but I have heard such wonderful things.  I am not sure how I will prepare it yet, but thanks to Pinterest, I already have a ton of recipes waiting for me.

Looks like its going to be another yummy week.  I already have my fennel and pork recipe ready to go.  It takes a while to cook so I plan on starting it early tomorrow so its ready in time for dinner.  I am looking forward to sharing it with you.  Let’s just hope I get a picture before it ends up in my tummy!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

