A Blogging Milestone

This blogging journey has been fulfilling for me from the start.  It started out being personally rewarding.  Blogging gives me the opportunity to document the growth and development of my daughter, to share my cooking adventures, and chronicle all the various child-rearing techniques we have chosen to follow.  What a fun way to memorize this time in our lives.  Then, as family and friends began to read and follow my blog, my level of purpose increased.  I am so grateful for the encouragement they have given me.  It is nice to be praised by the ones who know you best.  Plus, it has been a great way to stay in touch with people who I don’t get the chance to catch up with often.  And then, one day, someone from outside your circle recognizes what you are doing, and you realize that your wave of impact is growing, and it feels good.

Today I received a pleasant, unexpected surprise.  As I was browsing through my email I came across a message for a new post of a blog that I recently started following.  I read the title of the post.  Then I re-read the title of the post to make sure it said what I thought it said.  The title of the post read “Post I Enjoyed- In Her Chucks” by Lesley Carter.  When I finally realized what was going on, my heart jumped for joy.  This was indeed a blogging milestone for me.  So thank you Lesley for featuring my post on her blog.  I feel honored to be appreciated by my peers.  Especially as a new kid on the block, getting some positive reinforcement early on is a huge motivator.

Blogging is an interesting concept.  As you sit alone, plucking away at your computer, spilling your thoughts and feelings onto the screen, blogging can seem isolating.  But what I quickly learned is that blogging has become a new way to create communities without boundaries in this large world of ours.  Since I have started my blogging journey, I have connected with all different types of people from various places.  And I find that we have so much in common.

I believe that at the core of our existence, all humans long for interconnection.  As our society evolves and we become increasingly more independent from each other, we begin to lose a sense of collectivity.  But as evolution would have it, we are finding new ways to join together and create fellowship.  Blogging, Facebook, Twitter are all ways in which we can stay connected.  And even though I prefer a face to face meeting over an email any day, when those modes are not available, its nice to get a note that reminds you that you matter.  Plus, technology allows us to reach destinations that we might never get a chance to come in contact with.

So as I sit here, on my computer, by myself, I extend a huge thanks to all of those who take the time to read my posts.  No matter where you are in the world, I sincerely appreciate you connecting with me.  This is only the beginning.  I look forward to sharing even more blogging milestones with you in the future…in my chucks of course :)

Tagged

2 thoughts on “A Blogging Milestone

  1. Aunt Rosemary says:

    I am the one who is grateful to read your blog. Love, Aunt Rosemary

Leave a Reply

