Bisquick Apple Coffee Cake

Nothing says fall to me quite like apples.  The crisp texture reminds me of the brisk autumn air.  The array of colors resemble the changing leaves that sway freely in the tall trees.  The munch of your first bite echoes the crunch of the fallen leaves under your feet.  It truly is the perfect fruit for the season.

With all the apples that have come our way in the past few weeks, I have been on the hunt for some creative ways to incorporate them into our daily meals.  Grabbing a fresh apple for a quick snack is always a great option, but I felt inspired to do something more.  When I came across this recipe, I couldn’t help but give it a try.

Freddie loves all things apples.  He also is a huge fan of coffee cake.  So there was no question that this would be a winner in our household.  Plus, with all of the ingredients already in my pantry and refrigerator, there was nothing stopping me.

Ingredients

Cake:

2 cups Bisquick Heart Smart Mix

2/3 cup of water

2 tbsp sugar

1 egg

1 granny smith apple, cored, peeled, sliced

Topping:

1/3 cup Bisquick Heart Smart Mix

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

4 tablespoons butter

Preparation

1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees F

2.  Grease 8″ square pan.  Mix cake ingredients.  Spread cake batter in pan.  Layer apples slices evenly on top of the batter.

3.  Mix the topping ingredients of Bisquick, brown sugar and cinnamon.  Spread topping mix over top of batter in pan.  Add slices of butter all over the top.

4.  Bake 20 minutes or until golden brown, testing with a toothpick.

Recipe slightly adapted from Simply Recipes

For something quick and easy, this recipe satisfied my taste buds.  Making only four servings, it was just enough for our family of three (although, after all that pie, Harper wasn’t in the mood for any coffee cake…totally kidding!). I have never been a coffee cake for breakfast kind of gal, but it was sure yummy as an after dinner dessert.  Served with a cold glass of milk, it made for the perfect autumn treat :)

 

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Bisquick Apple Coffee Cake

  1. Courtney says:

    Totally sound like something that wouldn’t be oo challenging for me to make :)

  2. Jenn says:

    Looks great! I have some apples that need using up so might make this cake today. Is bisquick a flour mix? I’m in Australia… Might have to try it with some SR flour instead.

    • inherchucks says:

      Hi Jenn…sorry for the delay in my response…bisquick is a pancake and baking mix (http://www.bettycrocker.com/products/bisquick/default). I am not good with substitutions but am glad to offer you some other yummy apple treats…seems like I have been making a lot lately :)

      check these out :
      http://www.food.com/recipe/golden-delicious-apple-pie-with-oatmeal-crumb-topping-138892
      http://www.wiveswithknives.net/2010/10/20/dories-apple-cake/

      Also, the sight that I got the coffee cake recipe has a ton of other yummy apple recipes: http://www.simplyrecipes.com

      Hope this helps…I would love to hear how it works out. Especially if you find a good substitution for the Bisquick.

      • Jenn says:

        thanks! I’ve just thrown the apple cake in the oven. I’ll let you know how it goes!

      • Jenn says:

        I substituted the bisquick with self raising flour and used a whole cup of milk instead of 2/3 cup water (our pancake mix has milk powder in it so I figured it might be similar).

        Ok so then I didn’t follow the instructions properly. Because ‘apple’ was in the cake ingredients I mixed the apple with the cake ingredients. I also used two smallish red apples rather than a Granny Smith as that’s what I had on hand.

        When I got to the bit where it said later the apple I did a mental head slap but figured it should be ok.

        I sifted flour, brown sugar and cinnamon over the top (dry) and then sliced the butter to add the final layer. My butter was soft though so slightly chunky…

        When I took the cake out of the oven I really thought it was going to be vile! It looked pretty good but the larger pieces of butter hadn’t melted so I thought it might e a bit dry.

        The cake was fluffy, with apple pieces mixed through it and delicious salty sugary mouthfuls on top! Success :)

        Ps, my pregnant brain must be working over time though because I was trying to figure out at what stage the espresso goes in for the coffee part of the cake. Then I realised what you call a coffee cake I call a tea cake. Oops :)

      • inherchucks says:

        What a great account…I’m glad the result was successful :)

        I was going to put the apples inside too. Sounded like the best route. Glad you followed your instinct! Must of made the cake even that more moist…

        Funny how we have different terms for the same thing…good to know!

        Thanks for sharing…I will be trying your variation soon :)

Leave a Reply

