A Letter from Harper

Dear Uncle Quincy,

Thank you for coming all the way from Afghanistan to visit me.  It has been a while since we last hung out and I missed you a lot.  Remember when we first met, back when I was just an itty bitty thing?  I’ve grown up a lot since then :)

I know we don’t get a chance to talk often, but I think about you all the time.  I like to help mommy write you letters and send you care packages.  One time I even tried to sneak into a care package to surprise you.  But after reading the customs form I realized that humans were restricted.  Darn!  So I sent my baby wipes instead.  Hope they came in handy!

I’m sorry if I was a little scared the day we picked you up from the airport.  I had never seen you dressed up in your uniform before and so I didn’t recognize you at first.

But once we got to In-n-Out and you shared your fries with me, I felt right at home.

I had so much fun playing with you when you came to my house.  Thanks again for the stuffed bear.  I decided to name him Courage, because that is what it takes to do what you are doing over in Afghanistan.

My mommy and daddy are always telling me how strong and brave you are.  They tell me that you go out and fight for our country so we are protected.  That’s a big job!  Thanks for doing it :)

I am really lucky to have an uncle like you.  I am going to miss you a lot now that you went back to Afghanistan.  But I am proud of everything that you are doing.  I pray for your safety every night before I go to bed and send you good thoughts throughout the day.

I love you Uncle Quincy :)  Be safe and come home soon.

Tagged , , ,

10 thoughts on “A Letter from Harper

  1. Courtney says:

    You have me “misty” this morning. This is awesome Heather!

    Thank you Quincy for your selflessness and sacrifice!

  2. Heather, I am proud and grateful to be your and Quincy’s father – and seeing Harper with her very own Uncle Q is a loving reminder of the inimitable bond of family…

    Eager to see you Sunday,

    Love,

    Dad

  3. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Harper, What a nice tribute to your Uncle Quincy. You sure know how to write a clever blog with help from Mommy, I’m sure. Love that dress. XOXO Aunt Rosemary

  4. I had to share this with my mom it was so cute!! How long does he have to stay over there? I thought we were done with all that???

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Ayanna :) My brother will be going back to finish the remainder of his deployment which is about 4 1/2 months. So in total he will have served one year in Afghanistan. We are done in Iraq but who knows when we will be done in Afghanistan. Lots of work to do over there according to my brother. Keep him and his men in your prayers…

Leave a Reply

