Apple Pie Muffins

Today is my last day to get in my food posts.  We will be traveling to visit my sister and her family tomorrow so I can’t promise that I will have the time to cook, bake, take pics, etc.  But I am looking forward to sharing some of the mommy posts I have been working on.  Just need to polish them up :)

This week I was busy in the kitchen.  And believe it or not I was almost 100% successful in using all of my produce (not bad for only a few days…).  I had some avocados and mandarins left over and so I gave those to the neighbors before we took off.  But everything else was pretty much gone.  It took a lot of planning and creativity but I was pleased that nothing went to waste.  This recipe was my attempt to use up all my apples.

With six apples to eat in three days, we were pushing the “apple a day” theory.  Freddie and I enjoyed a snack of apples and Dubliner’s cheese and crackers the other night but we still had a few apples leftover.  When I was looking for recipes that would help me use up my apples, Freddie suggested apple pie.  The only problem with apple pie is that it isn’t portable, and there was no way we could (or should) eat an apple pie in a few days.  So when I came across this idea, I thought it was a nice compromise.  Plus, we could enjoy a few and share the rest with our friends and neighbors.

Ingredients

Muffins

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 egg

1 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup butter, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar

2 cups peeled, diced apples

Topping

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup rolled oats

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

3 tablespoons butter, melted

Preparation

1.  Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Line 12 cup muffin cups with paper liners.  Set aside.

2.  In a large bowl, whisk together 2 1/4 cups flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, and salt.  In a small bowl, whist together the egg, buttermilk, 1/2 cup melted butter, vanilla and 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar.  Stir until sugar has dissolved.

3.  Pour butter mixture into the flour mixture and stir until just combined.  Gently fold in apples.  Use a large scoop to fill each muffin well, filling the cups to the top.

4.  In a small bowl, stir together 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/3 cup flour, rolled oats, and cinnamon.  Drizzle in 3 tablespoons of melted butter, mixing until well blended.  Sprinkle this over the tops of the muffins.

5.  Bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes, or until the tops of the muffins spring back when lightly pressed.

6.  Cool on a wire rack.  Store at room temperature.

Recipe slightly adapted from allrecipes.com via my baking addiction

Out of all the apple recipes I have been baking lately, this is by far my favorite.  The muffin was perfectly moist with small apple surprises popping up with each bite.  The streusel on the top gave it a nice crunch of sweetness that had you coming back for more.  I enjoyed my muffin slightly warmed with a cold glass of milk.  It hit the spot as a tasty afternoon treat.

 

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Apple Pie Muffins

  1. Koko says:

    Yum! Can’t wait to try them!

Leave a Reply

