What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup

I am going on my second week without a produce box.  Last week we were out-of-town so I missed my delivery.  This week they are closed for the holidays.  I feel lost without my fruits and veggies.  But I thought I would take this opportunity to share some of the delicious recipes I have made with my fresh produce that never made the blog.

What’s in the Box? #1

Creamy Baked Cabbage with Fresh Thyme:  I normally enjoy my cabbage raw in coleslaw, salad or as a garnish to my fish tacos.  But when I came across this recipe I was immediately intrigued.  The result is a creamy, tangy goodness that pairs well as a side to roasted pork or chicken.

What’s in the Box? #2

Spiced Pork Chops with Butternut Squash:  I usually like to roast my butternut squash with a bunch of different spices including nutmeg, cinnamon and salt.  This version of butternut squash combined with the pork chops is a home run meal.  I served it with a side of my famous green beans and my company was more than pleased.  They even went back for seconds.  That is when you know you have done well :)

What’s in the Box #3

Beer Braised Beef with Onion, Carrot and Turnips:  One of the best dishes I have ever made hands down!  The only problem was, there wasn’t nearly enough.  Freddie and I scarfed it down so quick we were yearning for more.  There is something about slow cooked meat that soothe my soul.  This is a perfect dish for cold weather.  And a wonderful way to use a bunch of turnips.

What’s in the Box? #4

Herb and Wine Baked Halibut:  With a fresh bulb of garlic I couldn’t resist this recipe.  It was easy to throw together and oh so tasty!  Freddie is usually not a fan of baked fish but he was begging for seconds.  It has that light, refreshing flavor I am always looking for in a fish dish.  A must try!

What’s in the Box #5

Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Herbs:  For a quick and simple way to excite your taste buds and give your tummy a smile, give this delicious spaghetti squash recipe a try.  I served mine alongside some pan roasted chicken and it was the perfect combination.  For more spaghetti squash recipe ideas, check out Martha Stewart’s Spaghetti Squash Recipe Guide.

What’s in the Box? #6

Roasted Cauliflower-Spinach Risotto:  This dish was definitely an experiment for me as I have never made risotto before.  It is quite an art.  But even though the texture didn’t turn out like it was supposed to, the flavors made up for it.  This dish is a great option to be served on the side (I served it with some roasted chicken) or it would be great by itself.  I will continue to make this and practice my risotto technique :)

What’s in the Box? #7

Mashed Sweet Potatoes:  I don’t normally follow recipes for my mashed potatoes, but for some reason I was drawn to this one.  Martha always does me right.  And I have to say, this recipe didn’t disappoint.  The sweet potatoes were creamy, smooth and delicious.  This might turn out to be a future Thanksgiving recipe.

After all that, I feeling like I might just run out and buy some of my favorite produce and remake these dishes for old times sake!

What are some of your favorite recipes that utilize some of the fruits and veggies found in the boxes pictured above?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? Recipe Roundup

  1. Love how you organized this post, so cute!

  2. Heather…you are kickin it with this blog…

    Love,

    Dad

  3. Courtney says:

    I just wish I lived closer. You have me salivating and wishing I could come over for the remake of the beefy beer creation. Seriously Heather, I don’t think the cravings I’m having this early in the morning can be good for my health.

Leave a Reply

