Sugar Cookie Bars

Sweets.  I never need an excuse to whip up a fresh batch of sugary goodness.  And while many are starting the year off with a new diet or exercise plan, I am starting 2012 off with my new favorite dessert.

As much as I love to eat healthy, having a nice treat at the end of my meal makes me feel complete.  I believe in the “everything in moderation” approach to life.  Plus, I’m sure the bribery to eat my dinner in order to earn a dessert as a kid helped to form this habit as well (It’s cool Mom, I still love you!).

When I came across this recipe on, you guessed it, Pinterest, I couldn’t help but smile.  The playfulness of the rainbow sprinkles brought me back to the old school.  I felt like a kid again and was reminded of how simple life was.

In the midst of making this recipe (in front of company I might add), I dropped my bowl of dry ingredients on the ground, flour flying everywhere.  Luckily there was only about a cup or so left, but here was the result…

Boy, was she having a ball!  She was fascinated by the texture, soft and silky.  It didn’t take long before the flour found its way to her mouth.  That, she didn’t like as much.  But it sure looked cute smeared on her face.

Back to the story…

In an attempt to rectify my mistake, I threw in a cup of flour into the mixer.  I am sure there were portions of the other dry ingredients that needed to be added too, but there was no telling what was what.  The final product was a bit denser than I expected but I attributed that to my mishap.  Either way, once you lathered that frosting over the top, all was good in the hood.

Sugar Cookie Bars

Ingredients

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

2 cups sugar

4 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla

5 cups flour

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Preparation

1.  Cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy.

2.  Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.

3.  Meanwhile, mix the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl.

4.  Add the vanilla to the creamed mixture and then slowly add the dry ingredients.

5.  Press into a greased 13×18 inch pan and bake at 375F for 10-15 minutes.

6.  Cool and frost (see directions below).

Frosting

Ingredients

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 cup shortening

1 teaspoon vanilla

pinch of salt

4 cups powdered sugar

5 tablespoons of milk

sprinkles (optional)

Preparation

1.  In a mixing bowl, beat the shortening and butter until creamy.

2.  Add the vanilla and powdered sugar.

3.  Gradually add the 5 tablespoons of milk until you reach your desired consistency.

4.  Chill and cut.

Recipe from A Little Bit Crunchy A Little Bit Rock and Roll

This recipe would be a great dish to bring to a pot luck, a party or holiday event.  It makes TONS of Sugar Cookie Bars.  So be prepared to find homes for them.  Or stuff them in the freezer for later.  Feel free to have fun with decorating by adding food coloring to the frosting or playing around with different sprinkles.

I enjoyed my Sugar Cookie Bar warmed up in microwave for a bit and then washed it down with a glass of cold milk.  Hits the spot every time :)

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Sugar Cookie Bars

  1. Mama J says:

    Glad you liked the recipe. :)
    Love the blog name (from one Chuck wearing mama to another.)

  2. Aunt Rosemary says:

    So cute!! Harper loves your cooking already. I think she’ll be a wonderful cook like her Mom. Love, GG

Leave a Reply

