Sausage White Bean Kale Soup

When the air is crisp and the weather is chilly, there is no better way to warm yourself up then with a hot bowl of homemade soup.  And I’ll cut right to the chase, this soup is pretty darn delicious.

After receiving that beautiful bunch of kale the other day, I knew I had to do something amazing with it.  I found this recipe about a month ago and was waiting for just the right time to give it a shot.  And boy am I glad I finally did.

Unlike some soup recipes that are better to serve as an appetizer or starter, this soup is a main course all the way!  It is chock-full of yummy goodness that will keep you sa-tis-fied.  And its well-balanced.  Between the chicken sausage (protein), kale (veg) and beans (starch) this dish has you covered!

Ingredients

5 chicken sausages (I used mild italian, but you are welcome to use your favorite)

2 tbsp extra virgin oil

1 small onion, diced

1 shallot, sliced

1 clove garlic, minced

1/4 tsp dried oregano

1/4 tsp dried parsley

1/4 tsp paprika

1/8 tsp onion powder

1/8 tsp garlic powder

1/8 tsp cumin

1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes

1 15 oz can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed

4 cups low sodium chicken broth

6 stalks of kale, de-stemmed and roughly chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

Preparation

1.  In a medium-large saucepan heat the oil over medium-high heat, add the sausage (by squeezing it out of its casing) and cook until browned, breaking up the sausage into smaller pieces with a wooden spoon.  Remove from pan with slotted spoon.

2.  Reduce heat to medium, add onions and cook 3-4 minutes than add shallot and garlic.  Add all the spices, stir and sauté for 1-2 more minutes

3.  Next, start by adding one cup of the broth, using the back of a wooden spoon, scrape all the brown bits off the bottom of the pan.  Then add in the tomatoes, rinsed beans and cooked sausage.  Add the rest of the broth.

4.  Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer for at least 10 minutes.  Stirring occasionally.

5.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Add kale right before serving.

6.  Serve warm with crusty bread.

Recipe slightly adapted from the talking kitchen

The original recipe calls for 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes but we all know I’m a wuss for heat, so I omitted it all together.  It also called for a bay leaf which I completely forgot about.  Harper woke up from her nap in the middle of cooking so I got distracted and left my poor bay leaf on the cutting board all alone.  He still doesn’t forgive me for missing the soup party, but I promised him I would take him to another one real soon :)

This recipe makes enough for about 4-6 servings.  And that is what I love most about cooking for two.   Because then you get to enjoy the leftovers.  And honestly, as good as the soup was the night before, it was even better when I warmed it up for lunch the next day.  After all this jabbering, I think I am going to help myself to another bowl.  Mmmmm :)

 

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Sausage White Bean Kale Soup

  1. I heart kale soup.
    Your blog on food are going to be my undoing I swear.

  2. Pat Heiser says:

    Thanks for the great recipe,just made this soup and it was great!!!Have never used kale before,no not even once,this wisconsinite only knows corn ,beans and carrots but because of type 2 diabetes,have to learn to eat healthier,this sure was great,light,but filling and certainly healthy.Thanks!!!!!

    • inherchucks says:

      I am so happy to hear you enjoyed it. I was super excited when I came across this recipe myself. I don’t normally eat soup for dinner, but like you said, its so filling! It is a perfect option for you to help manage your diabetes. I had gestational diabetes when I was pregnant with my daughter and had to find ways to limit my carbs. Let me know if you need some more options. I would be happy to help :)

Leave a Reply

