How Is My Garden Growing?

Back in November, I posted pictures of our new venture, a garden plot in the community gardens.

And I am happy to report, our garden is growing quite nicely!

Lookin’ pretty good right?

But really, I can’t take much credit for this wonderful masterpiece.  Like I mentioned when we started this new hobby, my husband has been a HUGE help!  And he continues to do all of the hard labor (love you baby!).  We do take turns watering, although Freddie ends up doing most of it since he is the expert.  But I have to say, my watering skills are steadily improving :)

Since planting our garden, we have taken up composting as well.  It is a great way to improve your soil as well as recycle your food scraps.  And now, composting is one of my favorite things!  It has taken my passion for not wasting to a whole new level.  I feel good about putting whatever parts of our produce that we don’t use back into the ground from which it came.

And really, it’s super simple.  Each time I prepare food and have any leftover food scraps from my produce, I throw it in my compost pail.  We picked up this really cool one from Bed Bath and Beyond (with a trusty 20% off coupon of course!).

It looks great on our countertop and has a carbon filter to control the food scrap odors, so it never gets stinky.  Once our pail gets full, which is almost every day with all the produce we eat around here, we empty it into our compost bin at our garden.  There are lots of different compost bins you can use.  We happen to like one similar to this.

To be honest, the whole “transfer the food scraps into the bin filled with worms and bugs” thing isn’t the part I look forward to the most.  Actually, Freddie usually does it for me because it’s way to “ewwie” for me.  It’s totally a boys job, cause it can get pretty gross.  But the result is definitely worth it.

So without further ado, let’s look at all the cool stuff that’s growing in our garden!

We have officially grown our first strawberry!  This is my most exciting achievement.  I eat strawberries all the time.  So to be able to pick them fresh daily will be a real treat.  Can’t wait until more start popping up!

Are these gorgeous or what!  They almost don’t even look real to me.  I have had some yummy salads in my life but I have the feeling I am graduating to a new level of deliciousness.  And paired with the strawberries…my favorite salad just got better!  PS:  I am currently looking for homes for our overabundance of fresh lettuce…any takers?

Ladies and gentlemen…we got broccoli!  And as one of the green veggies we enjoy eating the most, these are going to make a nightly appearance on our plates.  We still have some time before they are ready to harvest, but the good news is, we are on the right track!

And look who happened to show up uninvited?

A stowaway, leftover from the previous gardener.  But, being my favorite herb, I am not at all disappointed.  The only trouble with mint is that it tends to try to take over the garden.  It grows like a weed, literally.  So we are going to have to watch it to make sure it doesn’t get out of hand.  But I see lots more Lemon Iced Tea in my near future…yum!

Everything else is coming along nicely as well.  Or should I say, everything except the spinach.  Although, we haven’t given up hope…yet.  We still have our fingers crossed that something might sprout up soon.  But really, 9 out of 10 on our first gardening experience ain’t bad!

I am so glad we decided to take on this new hobby.  I have learned so much and feel more accountable for the food that I eat.  I enjoy watching our crops grow, change and flourish.  Mother nature is sure a marvel for which I am extremely grateful!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “How Is My Garden Growing?

  1. Courtney says:

    NICE! You’ll have a garden that is as lush as the others soon!

  2. Linda L. Statz says:

    I have never seen anyone try to grow celery! Keep me posted. The lettuce looks simply delicious. (PS: I keep planting strawberries but it must be too cold for my planters) Cuz

    • inherchucks says:

      Strawberries don’t usually do well in the winter, but our california climate is quite pleasant so we can pretty much grow strawberries all year round. The celery is looking great! I can’t wait to harvest it :) Just picked some lettuce with my friend today. I will let you know what she says.

  3. Freddie Mercer says:

    Learned it all from my amazing father, Freddie L. Mercer, Sr. Pops, this Gardens for you! We miss you. Tell mom hey.

  4. Aunt Rosemary says:

    WOW! The garden is so much more mature then the last time we saw it. Keep up the good work. You can really see how TLC pays off.

  5. Anthony thomas @ 5120 hillcrest says:

    Freddie I’m proud of you man. You & you wonderful family make me feel very good to have seen you grow up. Keep up the good work.

  6. Stella Mae's mama says:

    Lettuce please!

  7. Myk.Am says:

    You should have a look at vermicomposting

Leave a Reply

