Lemon Bars

Growing up, we had a beautiful lemon tree in our front yard.  It harvested lemons the size of grapefruits and the flavor was like nothing you have ever tasted.  My mom was always coming up with new and creative ways to use them.  But she was most famous for her lemon bars.

Now that I am all grown up and on my own, it has been a while since I have had my mom’s homemade lemon bars.  And for some reason, I have been craving them like crazy lately.  So when I received fresh picked lemons in my box this week, there was no question that I had to whip up a batch of my own.

I could hardly wait to take the first bite.  The buttery, flakey crust melted in my mouth.  It was a perfect complement to the creamy zing of the lemon filling.  I was in pure heaven!

Ingredients

1 cup (1/2 lb) unsalted butter softened

1/2 cup powdered sugar (plus extra for sifting on top of baked lemon bars)

2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

4 large eggs

2 cups granulated sugar

1 tsp grated lemon zest

6 tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp baking powder

Preparation

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2.  In a large bowl of an electric mixer, beat butter and 1/2 cup powdered sugar until creamy; beat in 2 cups of flour, blending thoroughly.  Spread mixture evenly over bottom of a well greased 9×13 inch baking pan.  Bake for 20 minutes.

3.  Meanwhile in a small bowl, using an electric mixer, beat eggs until light.  Gradually add the granulated sugar, beating until the mixture is think and lemon colored.  Add lemon zest, lemon juice, remaining 1/3 cup flour and baking powder; beat until smooth and well combined.

4.  Pour lemon mixture over baked crust and return to oven; bake for 15-20 minutes or until topping is pale golden.  Place on a rack to cool; while still warm, lightly sift some powdered sugar over the top.

5.  Cut into squares, serve and enjoy!

There is something about these lemon bars that folks can’t get enough of.  I made a batch last night and between sharing them with our neighbors and Freddie’s co-workers, they are already gone!  They are a sweet, refreshing treat that gives any meal a happy ending.

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Lemon Bars

  1. Aunt Rosemary says:

    My mouth is watering.

  2. heather! I loooove your blog! you are so good at what you do! We’ve got to catch up more on our blogging passion! have a lovely weekend! (your neighbor audrey)

Leave a Reply

