It’s Potty Time!: Part 2

It’s been a while since my original post on elimination communication (EC).  So if you are unfamiliar with that term or would like to learn more, I would recommend you read this before you go any further.  It will help to bring you up to speed.

Harper began using the potty when she was 2 months old.  We started her out on this adorable little toilet, but as she got older, she soon became too big.  Well, that and every time she sat on the toilet she decided it would be fun to scoot around the bathroom floor like it was a ride at Disneyland.  Oh, and she also became curious about what she was depositing into the potty and began sticking her hands in to see what she could find.  Yuck!  So it didn’t take long for us to upgrade her to the big girl potty.

To no surprise, her little 8 month old booty was a little too small to fit on the big girl potty.  So we ordered a toilet trainer that fits securely on the top of the toilet seat that ensures she is comfortable and won’t fall in.  Not only did this help with the previous issues mentioned, but now we didn’t have to worry about cleaning out the potty chair.  All we have to do is flush!

Nearly 10 months after starting EC with Harper, she is almost 100% diaper free…at home.  We keep her naked most of the time in order to help catch any eliminations.  Some days we get to the toilet in time, and some days we don’t.  And when we don’t, it’s of course because we, as parents, missed her cues.  Although, as she has become mobile, most of the time she crawls into the bathroom herself.  She can’t quite get herself on the toilet yet, but when I see her headed that way I follow her and help her out with the rest.

There are many different “levels” of EC.  We are somewhere in the middle.  By this I mean, Harper still wears diapers when she sleeps or nurses and always wears a diaper when we are out and about.  I have never offered her the toilet in public, only when we travel and stay at hotels.  But because Harper seems to be responding so well with the EC approach at home and is very consistent with her routine, I feel like in order to honor her EC journey, I need to step up my game a bit and take it to the next level.

To be honest, the reason I have never offered her the potty outside the house is because I myself am weary of public restrooms.  They kind of gross me out.  But the bottom line is, using them is inevitable.  So I might as well start introducing Harper to it now.  I read this great blog entry on pottying outside the home and it inspired me to equip myself for the next step.  So this evening, I ordered a folding portable toilet seat and some disposable toilet seat covers and am ready to take the plunge.  I am sure you will be hearing more about this very soon…

If you would like to learn more about EC and our journey, I am happy to answer any questions you might have.  There is also a ton of great information out there to support you.  Here are some links I have found extremely useful.

As I said in my original EC post, when it comes to practicing EC, it’s all about creating a positive association with toileting.  It is a no stress approach.  Our goal is to help Harper remain in tune with their body and elimination needs.  I continue to be inspired by our success with this method and am happy that Harper has been able to have this experience.  I would encourage all new and expecting parents to look into EC to see if is right for your family.  Because at the end of the day, there’s nothing more fun than being a potty animal!

Tagged ,

6 thoughts on “It’s Potty Time!: Part 2

  1. “There’s nothing more fun than being a potty animal.”
    Hahaha! Love that :)
    When did she turn one? Heck, when did my DD turn 2!?

    Anyway, thanks for the linkback! I can’t remember the very first time I used the public facilities, but the first time, but the most memorable one was an epic poop when she was three months old at a rest stop (we were traveling by car from state to state; a 14+ hour drive). DH has driven the route a thousand times in 20 years and passenger for 20 before that so he knows the good, clean spots to stop for a leg stretch and bathroom break. The only time we stopped some placed really really questionable, I was pregnant and had to go really bad. LOL

    • inherchucks says:

      Harper will be one in a little less than a month. Doesn’t the time fly!

      Thank you for continuing to share your experiences. I have learned so much from your knowledge.

  2. That’s awesome!! My grandma had both me and my mom on the toilet when we were just little things too! Back then, I don’t think they had books about it, or such a fancy name! Lol! It’s just how they did things. Just another reason we should listen to our elders!

    • inherchucks says:

      Your grandma knows whats up! It’s all about listening to our elders. They carry the knowledge that’s passed down from generations. I am glad you experienced that with her. Sounds like you are all set for when you have a little one ;)

  3. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Your great grandpa used a similiar method on me. Story telling time for our next visit.

Leave a Reply

