Spaghetti with Pork Bolognese

Spaghetti.  It has to be number one on my comfort food list.  There is nothing like it.  Add a side of garlic bread and a green salad and I am a very happy girl.

Some of my earliest memories involve spaghetti.  I can remember being a little girl, sitting cross-legged on the floor in front of the coffee table, enjoying my Aunt Janet’s homemade spaghetti.  Sucking up the noodles one by one was always my favorite part.  I love how they wiggle as they approach your mouth, leaving a trail of sauce around your lips.  It must be a kid thing, because even for her first time eating spaghetti, Harper had the technique down pat!

PS:  Are we loving the fro?

But as much as I love spaghetti, not just any sauce will do.  When it comes to the sauce, I like it creamy, meaty and flavorful.

I first saw this recipe in a Cooking Light magazine a few years back.  Cooking Light was always my favorite magazine.  I would  look forward to their monthly issues.  I pretty much learned how to cook from following their delicious and nutritious recipes.  Now it seems as though magazines are a thing of the past.  But I still enjoy finding their recipes on my favorite website, MyRecipes.com.

When I read the title and realized this sauce was made with pork I was a little skeptical.  I never ate a ton of pork before I married Freddie. But he is a pork-a-holic, so I end up cooking pork a lot and have grown to like it!  Besides, the picture made it look so good!  Well, long story short, I am glad I gave it a shot, because every other Bolognese recipe I have made since, doesn’t compare.  The complexity of flavors is out of this world.  The meat is light and moist.  And it has that creamy element that I die for.  The best!

Ingredients

1 1/2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

2 cups finely chopped onion

1/2 cup finely chopped carrot (about 2-3 carrots)

1/2 cup finely chopped celery (1-2 stalks)

1 1/2 teaspoons chopped garlic

1 teaspoon kosher salt, divided

1 bay leaf

1 pound ground pork tenderloin

3/4 pound ground pork

1 ounces pancetta, finely diced

1/4 cup tomato paste

2 cups chopped plum tomato (about 3/4 pound)

1 1/2 cups organic vegetable broth

1 cup dry white wine

1 cup 1% low-fat milk

1/8 teaspoon grated whole nutmeg

1 (2-ounce) piece Parmigiano-Reggiano rind

1 (3-inch) cinnamon stick

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

8 cups hot cooked spaghetti (about 16 ounces uncooked)

1/2 cup (2 ounces) grated fresh Parmigiano-Reggiano

1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley

Preparation

1.  Heat olive oil in a large Dutch oven over medium heat.  Add onion, carrot, celery, garlic, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and bay leaf to paul cook 8 minutes or until vegetables are tender, stirring occasionally.

2.  Increase heat to medium-high.  Add ground pork tenderloin, ground pork, pancetta, and 1/4 teaspoon salt; sauté 8 minutes or until pork looses its pink color.

3.  Stir in tomato paste; cook 1 minute.

4.  Add tomato and next 5 ingredients (through rind); bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, simmer 45 minutes.

5.  Add cinnamon simmer 30 minutes or until most of liquid evaporates.  Discard bay leaf, rind, and cinnamon stick; stir in remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper.

6.  Top hot noodles with sauce and sprinkle with cheese and parsley.

Recipe from Cooking Light via MyRecipes.com

Not only is this dish delicious when it is fresh, but it is even better the next day.  With this recipe yielding 8 servings, you are bound to have leftovers (that is, if you have a small family like ours!).  The recipe does take time from start to finish because the sauce has to simmer for a while, so you might want to make it on a weekend so you don’t end up eating dinner at 9 pm!

If you are not a pork eater, you can always replace the meat with ground turkey, chicken or beef.  I have a hard time finding ground pork tenderloin, but the butcher at my local grocery store was happy to ground some up for me on the spot!  I like to buy my pancetta already diced.  Trader Joe’s has a great 4 oz package you can use half of and then enjoy the rest in your eggs the next morning.

So, if you are as much of a spaghetti enthusiast as I am,I encourage you to give this recipe a try.  Or, if you think you might have a recipe that rivals this one, I would love to check it out!  My motto is, you can never have too much of a good thing.  Especially when it comes to spaghetti!

 

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Spaghetti with Pork Bolognese

  1. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Uncle Ang agrees. You can never have enough home cooked spaghetti.

  2. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Love Harper’s fro. Wish I had one.

Leave a Reply

