What’s in the Box? #11

Is anyone else amazed that this is the last Wednesday of January!?!  Where did the month go?  Time is flying by way too fast!  Kind of sounds like my day today.  We were so busy with our daily activities that before I knew it, it was 5:30 and I still hadn’t opened up my box!  So it was a mad dash to grab a quick pic before the sun was completely gone.

The picture may not do it justice, but this was a different kind of box.  I like it when they switch things up on us.  Especially during this time of year.  There isn’t much variety that is available during winter so when we do get some new items, it is always fun.

If you hadn’t already guessed, blueberries were my top pick this week.  I can’t get enough of berries.  They are a staple in my household.  And these little guys are perfect in every way.  I like my blueberries a bit firm.  That way when you bite into them they burst in your mouth.  A nice surprise when you throw them into oatmeal, yogurt, or just enjoy them plain.  Harper takes after her momma and loves blueberries as well.  This carton may not make it through the night!

Since we started our garden, I look at broccoli completely differently.  I never knew the effort it took to grow broccoli or where those large stalks came from.  I have always loved broccoli before but now I have a whole new appreciation for it.  Being one of my favorite green vegetables, I can’t wait to begin harvesting our own.  But in the mean time, I will enjoy my weekly dose from my box.

I was excited to get my first delivery of delicata squash.  I have never tried it before but just read a new recipe for Oven-Fried Delicata Rings the other day.  They looked divine.  So it was perfect timing!  Guess I know what I am having for dinner tomorrow night :)

After the yumminess that was Sausage White Bean Kale Soup, I will most definitely be using the kale and onion to whip up another batch.  It was the hardiest soup I have ever had.  And super easy to make.  Plus, Harper couldn’t get enough of it.  I can taste it already!  And of course, as I always do, I will be serving a delicious salad on the side with my favorite lettuce, red butter lettuce.  I will most likely shred some of those colorful carrots on top as well.  They make everything look so much more fancy!

Just when I thought I had found the perfect recipe for Grapefruit Cake, I came across another one that I have been dying to try.  So I was super stoked to get fresh picked grapefruits to help me out with this venture.  This will be number one on my list for things to do tomorrow.  And trust me, it is taking everything in me to not run to the store right now.  Can we say eager?  So in an attempt to divert my attention, I am going to sit here and enjoy a few mandarins, my favorite snack, and wind down before it is time to hit the sack.

You know it is going to be a good week when you can’t get cake off your mind :)  Just another reason why I love Wednesdays!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #11

  1. Aunt Rosemary says:

    February is right around the corner. Birthday time.

Leave a Reply

