Turkey-Basmati Rice Meatballs with Bok Choy

As we head into the weekend, a lot of people have Super Bowl 46 on their minds.  I happen to be thinking about bok choy, and how it’s one of my favorite vegetables.  (Sorry football fans, not too big into pro-sports…)

I became familiar with bok choy back in college.  I had just started to experiment with cooking and was inspired by one of my co-workers to give bok choy a chance.  I found it easy to prepare and yummy to eat and it has been on my “nice” list ever since.  TOUCHDOWN!  (Sorry, I felt compelled to give at least one football reference in this post…it’s my American duty.)

This recipe came about in an attempt to introduce Freddie to bok choy.  My ongoing challenge is to prepare vegetables in which he is unfamiliar in a way that he will enjoy.  So by pairing it with meatballs, I knew I couldn’t lose.  TOUCHDOWN!

Ingredients

Meatballs:

1 cup water

1/3 cup uncooked basmati rice

1/4 plain breadcrumbs

1/3 cup chopped green onions

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1 1/4 pounds ground turkey

2 large egg whites

1 garlic glove minced

Cooking spray

Bok Choy:

1 large head of bok choy

2 teaspoons vegetable oil

1/4 cup chopped green onions

1 tablespoon peeled grated fresh ginger

1 garlic clove minced

1 cup water

3/4 cup fat-free chicken broth

3 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce

1 1/2 teaspoons sugar

1 1/2 tablespoons dry sherry

Preparation

To prepare meatballs, bring 1 cup water to a boil in a small saucepan.  Stir in basmati rice; reduce heat, and simmer 12-15 minutes or until rice is almost tender.  Drain; cool.  Combine rice, breadcrumbs, and next 6 ingredients (through garlic).  Shape mixture into golf ball size meatballs.

Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat; coat pan with cooking spray.  Add meatballs; cook 5- 7 minutes, browning on all sides.  Cover and reduce heat to medium; cook 10 minutes or until done, turning often.  Remove from heat; keep warm.

While the meatballs cook, prepare bok choy.  Roughly chop stems and leaves of bok choy.  Rinse under cold running water; drain well.  Slightly steam bok choy in a rice cooker or steamer basket.

While bok choy is steaming, heat vegetable oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add 1/4 cup green onions, ginger, and 1 garlic clove; sauté 30 seconds.  Combine water and next 4 ingredients.  Bring to a boil and cook for 3-5 minutes.  When the bok choy leaves are beginning to wilt and the stalks are slightly tender, add boy choy to the skillet and cook for 5-10 minutes.  The longer you cook the boy choy in the liquid the more flavor it will absorb.  Just be careful not to overcook it.  Serve with meatballs and extra broth.  Garnish with sesame seeds or sliced green onion if desired.

Recipe adapted from Cooking Light via MyRecipes.com

The original recipe calls for jasmine rice.  I normally do use jasmine rice when I prepare this dish, but I didn’t realize I was out of it until I was already in the midst of getting dinner ready.  So I substituted the basmati rice instead and it turned out just fine.  They also suggest adding some red pepper flakes.  But I am not a fan of heat.  So I omitted those all together.

Besides being super delicious, this dish is special to me because it reminds me of when I was pregnant with Harper.  Diagnosed with gestational diabetes (GD), I had to be careful about my carbohydrate intake.  So with only 18 grams of carbs/serving, this dish was perfect.  Plus, it is much more exciting than a boring piece of protein with a side of veggies.  The flavors in this dish are explosive.  The ginger adds a bite of spice which is complimented by the sweetness of the sherry.  And when you add moist and fluffy meatballs paired with crisp and crunchy greens to soak up all that goodness…the result is magical.  TOUCHDOWN!! (ok…last one…I promise!)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Turkey-Basmati Rice Meatballs with Bok Choy

  1. Thanks for pointing this out to me, I can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

