Words of Wisdom

Today was a lovely little Saturday.

It began at around 9 am when I awoke to a snuggly baby who was enjoying sleeping in late with me.  I wish I could have stayed there all day but I had to get up and get ready for my 10am photography class.

Freddie had signed me up for this class as part of my Christmas gift.  I had a great time learning how to use all the bells and whistles on my camera.  I was grateful that the class was held outside because then I could enjoy the amazing weather (70 degrees in February ain’t too bad!).

I got out of class a little early and was able to make it home before Harper left for her swim lesson.  I was happy I didn’t miss it as it is a fun family activity that I look forward to weekly.

When we got home, I ran to the market to pick up a few ingredients to make dinner.  While I was gone, Harper stayed home with her daddy and enjoyed a play date with our friends and neighbors.

At around 5pm, our friends came over for dinner.  Freddie and I love having company over.  It’s always fun to hang out, eat some good food and share stories.

Soon after they left, it was time for Harper to go to bed.  Once she was off in dream land, Freddie and I worked on planning Harper’s party.  We are so excited to celebrate her 1st birthday in a few weeks :)  By the time we finished, it was pretty late, and I was pretty tired.  But of course I still have so much that has to be done!  And then some words of wisdom popped into my head.

My dad loves to share lessons with me that were passed down from his dad.  He has a ton of them and he always offers them at just the right moment.  I can remember one time, while I was in the midst feeling a bit overwhelmed with all the things I had on my plate, he said, “You can do anything you want, you can’t do everything you want”.  So as much as the perfectionist in me doesn’t want to admit that this statement is true, I will surrender and accept that there is always tomorrow.  And as much as mommy hood has taught me the art of multitasking, I have yet to master sleeping while doing my chores.

So as I retire to my comfy bed with my loved ones who are already catching their Zs, I am grateful for a day of family, fun and friends.  And grateful for gentle words of wisdom.

Sweet dreams :)

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Words of Wisdom

  1. I can’t wait to see pictures of the party! I know it’s going to be fabulous!

Leave a Reply

