You Know You Are a Crunchy Mama When…

almost every reference made in this video is totally sh*t I say!

Here is a list of my 10 favorites:

1: “Sorry if I smell like garlic, I’m trying to kick this cold”- Have you ever snuggled your baby to bed and realized they smelled like garlic bread? No? Huh…well, getting a hold of Gaia Herbs for Kids Ear Drops could help solve this problem. I recently learned about these through my friends whose babies have been battling ear infections. And they have worked wonders! For centuries garlic has been known to have anti-bacterial as well as anti-fungal and anti-parasitic properties. Mullein oil, another ingredient often found in ear drops, has an anti-viral action and also helps to work against inflammation and increases the lymphatic circulation. Make sure to consult your physician about this alternative method to conventional treatments.

2: “Who was your doula?”- Thank God for doulas! Before I got pregnant with Harper I was unfamiliar with the term, but after experiencing labor with a doula and a midwife by my side, I am a huge advocate of their work. If you or anyone you know is pregnant and expecting a baby, I would highly recommend having a doula at the birth. The support they provide both for the mother and the family is tremendous and can many times prove to be life changing. To read more on doulas, check out the DONA International site.

3: “I love the amber teething necklace“- If you have ever seen a baby with a necklace on and wondered why they are better accessorized than you, then chances are they were wearing an amber teething necklace. Amber teething necklaces are made for wearing not chewing. The Baltic amber helps to relieve teething pain. It also boasts other benefits such as boosting the immune system and offering anti-inflammatory and therapeutic properties.

4: ” Wait, I’m doing my kegels, hold on a second”- For those of us who have had the pleasure of giving birth, kegels have become our new form of exercise. And that is all I have to say about that…because divulging anymore information would be a bit TMI!

5: “I might eat the placenta, I might not”- Believe it or not, placentophagy is all the rage, in this culture anyways. But don’t worry, no ones frying it up and serving it for dinner. Or at least let me say, no one I know. However, people are dehydrating it, grinding it up, putting it in capsules and taking it in the form of a multi-vitamin. And why not? All the other mammals are doing it!

6: “48 hour water birth”- Ok, so maybe my labor wasn’t 48 hours but 31 hours is a good chunk of time too. And unfortunately I wasn’t able to have a water birth, but more on that later. I look forward to sharing my birth story with you soon.

7: “We don’t have a crib”- As we approach our one year anniversary of family cuddles, and celebrate Harper’s 1st birthday, I am still grateful that our crib was originally on back order. Not only did we save money by eventually canceling our order, but better yet, we get the chance to snuggle up to our adorable little girl every night. It doesn’t get better than that!

8: “Coconut oil, where’s the coconut oil?”- Because who needs diaper cream when there is coconut oil? And the number of uses doesn’t stop there. It is great for cradle cap, baby massage, digestion. Check out this link for the many health benefits of coconut oil for your little one.

9: “I think she’s pooping”- A day in the life of a family practicing elimination communication, is all about staying in touch with your little one’s bodily functions. Check out the above links to read more.

10: “It’s called the Business of Being Born“- I know I have mentioned this movie before, but it is a powerful display of knowledge. This movie was the turning point for me when it came to how I chose to bring my daughter into this world. I would highly recommend it to all people, but especially those who are pregnant.

To be honest, growing up, I could have never predicted I would be considered a crunchy mom, but now that I am, I couldn’t be more proud to say it…and all the other sh*t!

ps: Love this video and want to see more? Check out Mama Natural’s Blog

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

