For My Love…

Seven years ago, today, I went on my first date with a fine young gentleman.  We had only just met but a feeling inside of me told me this was something special.

On our way to meet our friends for dinner and a show, I had a vision.  I could see the future, as if it were playing out right in front of me.  We were married, with a family, enjoying a partnership, a union.

Three years ago, today, my vision materialized, and I married that fine young gentleman.  We embarked on a new journey together for the rest of our lives.  Two becoming one.

And now, as we celebrate our first anniversary as a family, with our daughter, I am blown away by how far we have come.

To be honest, it can be hard to notice progress in the midst of our daily lives.  But when you take a moment to step back and reflect, you appreciate the hard work that has gotten you here.

On our wedding day, I promised my husband a priceless love.  Not a discount love, not a 2 for 1 love, not a bought it on sale love.  But an all I have love, a bankrupt love…every last drop love.

And so today, three years later, I re-pledge my love to him.  My love for him as my husband, my love for him as a father, my love for him as a man.

Freddie, in the last seven years together, you have taught me so much.  You have opened my eyes to new sights, my ears to new sounds.  I am grateful for your friendship, your partnership and your love.

Thank you for being patient with me.  Thank you for being honest with me.  Thank you for being real.

This has been one heck of a journey.  And it ain’t over yet.  Three years down, a lifetime to go.

Happy Valentines Day!  Happy Anniversary!

I love you.

xoxo

Tagged , , , ,

16 thoughts on “For My Love…

  1. Jennifer says:

    Awwwww this is so beautiful!!!! Congratulations on your guys’ anniversary and a recommittment on pursuing that “every last drop” kind of love.

  2. Thomas Bähler says:

    OK…Dad’s shedding tears of joy…Happy Valentines Day to U 3
    Heather, Freddie and Harper…
    Thank You Zeus!

  3. Linda L. Statz says:

    Happy Anniversary and, of course, Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. And Happy Anniversary! February 14th is a big day for you – first date, wedding…
    :)
    Dad

  5. Freddie Mercer says:

    Happy Anniversary baby! You are my queen and the love of my life! Thank you for sharing your life with me. You are so beautiful to me, more than I ever hoped for. You are perfect. Cheers to another infinite amount of years. Heather, be my Valentine.

  6. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day. Most of all Happy Anniversary & many more. Love to you all, Uncle Ang & Me

  7. thu says:

    Hi there, landed on your blog from the “our love story” link-up, which was a while I know! Although I didn’t participate I still loved reading everyone’s love story ;)

    Awww – V-day and anniversary on one day – how sweet is that!

    Come check out my blog if you have time, thanks!

  8. Astrid Henao says:

    <3 this Heather. Valentine's day has always been my favorite holiday. To pledge your infinite love to someone – what could be better?! :)

    I love "I promised my husband a priceless love. Not a discount love, not a 2 for 1 love, not a bought it on sale love. But an all I have love, a bankrupt love…every last drop love."

    This has to be the best love quote I've heard.
    Love you guys,

    Astrid

Leave a Reply

