Spinach Dip

Growing up I always admired my mom for being the “hostess with the mostess”.  She would often throw dinner parties for family and friends and always made entertaining look so easy.  As I begin to host parties and dinners on my own, I desire to follow in her footsteps.  Not only did she make her guests feel warm and welcomed, they always left with bellies full of homemade goodness.

There are a slew of delicious recipes my mom is famous for, but her spinach dip was always a crowd favorite.  It wasn’t uncommon to see people parked in front of the food table taking spoonful after spoonful of this yummy and satisfying treat.  As a kid I would look forward to leftovers because that meant I could take some to school with me the next day or enjoy it when I got home for an afternoon snack.

Besides the mouth-watering taste, I always loved how my mom would present it.  Using a cabbage to serve the spinach dip is a unique and creative way to wow your guests.  Just cut the cabbage in half, hallow out the center and fill it with your favorite spread.  Simple and easy but oh so fancy :)

Ingredients

1 10 oz box of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained (it is important that you get the spinach as dry as possible)
2 1/2 tablespoons of Knorr Leek Recipe Mix (about 3/4 of the package)
2 cups sour cream
1 cup mayonnaise
1/2 cup sliced green onion
1/2 cup chopped parsley
1 tsp dried dill
1 tsp Good Seasons Italian Dressing Mix (don’t actually make the dressing just use the dried ingredients from the package)
Preparation
Pour all ingredients into a blender or food processor and pulse until smooth.
I like to serve my spinach dip with a variety of fresh vegetables.  Although cucumbers and carrots tend to be my favorite when it comes to dipping.  Chips or crackers work well too.
The dip will last a few days refrigerated in an air tight container.  But chances are your guests will gobble it up…every last drop!  So whether you are throwing a rainbow party or are in the mood for a healthy snack, this spinach dip is the perfect match.
Photo taken by Rachel Bradshaw of Little Sparrows Photography.
Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Spinach Dip

  1. Aunt Rosemary says:

    I remember this moutwatering dip very well. You are becoming a great hostess. You add your own flair to what ever you do. I’m so proud of you. Love,GG

  2. […] Dip slightly adapted from In Her Chucks 1 10 oz box of frozen chopped spinach, thawed, drained, and squeezed very dry 2 1/2 tablespoons […]

Leave a Reply

