What’s in the Box? #18

Spring has sprung and boy am I excited!  As far as weather is concerned, there really is no big change.  I am lucky to live in a town that tends to be around 70 degrees year round.  So there really is no drastic change in that area.  But I love how the days get longer.  Sunlight is my friend and having it stick around well into the evening makes me feel like I can get so much more done.  So here’s to longer days and of course, spring produce…my second favorite thing.

I have been hearing a lot of talk about pixie tangerines lately.  To be honest I don’t know if I had ever tried one…until today, that is.  And let me tell you, sweet little gems.  Totally live up to the hype.  They are my new little go to snack :)  And speaking of snacks, those carrots are prefect snacking size.  Dip them in some roasted red pepper hummus and you got yourself a nice afternoon pick me up!

So where’s the fiesta?  Avocados always scream guacamole to me!  Which means I might be looking for some dinner guests to come help me devour a big batch of it.  Of course, the evening would include some amazing fish tacos, topped with shredded green cabbage (recipe to come!).  Any takers?

Since my little girl seems to be a huge fish eater lately (her new favorite food), these navel oranges will be perfect for my delicious halibut recipe.  And even though the recipe calls for scallions, these green spring onions will work just fine.  I might even have to serve a delicious salad on the side with my favorite red leaf lettuce.  Sounds like the perfect meal :)

Every time I get a batch of kale, I get a taste in my mouth for my Sausage White Bean Kale Soup.  There is something about it that screams comfort food to me.  And it’s so darn easy!  Second to fish, Harper always enjoys mama’s homemade soups.  Added bonus, the recipe calls for shallots.  So looks like the only thing I need to pick up at the store is some crunchy bread and fresh sausage.  Yum…I might just have to get busy on this dish tomorrow.

And finally, the peppery goodness that is arugula.  I think I might just have to make it a two taco night week.  I keep forgetting to share one of my favorite taco recipes with you and this arugula is the perfect excuse to get cookin.  So it looks like we will be celebrating Taco Tuesday all week long!

So if you are in the neighborhood and in the mood for a taco, swing on by, I will have plenty to go around!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #18

  1. Astrid Henao says:

    I’m going to have to move in next door Heather – I am LOVING your recipes and your way of thinking about family, food, and life. Just makes my heart so happy to read. And so inspiring! One order of tacos for me – side of fresh guac please!

Leave a Reply

