Salmon with Coriander Rub and Lime Cream

When it comes to salmon, I tend to keep my distance.  I don’t have anything against it, it just isn’t necessarily my favorite choice for fish.  The strong flavor can be a bit overpowering sometimes, and to be honest, my attempts to find a recipe I love have all fell flat.  Until now :)

This past weekend one of my sorority sisters came to town to visit.  One of my favorite parts about having company is preparing home cooked meals for them.  And this weekend was no exception.

Since my girlfriend is a pescetarian, I was excited to try a new fish recipe.  I had a few different options I was thinking about experimenting with, but after she said salmon was her favorite it was easy to narrow it down.

When I arrived at the fist market I was blown away by how many different types of salmon there were.  I didn’t know where to start!  Luckily the man behind the counter was super helpful and suggested an Alpine King Salmon which turned out to be delicious.

Ingredients

1/2 cup coriander seeds

4 teaspoons cumin seeds

6 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil plus additional for brushing

4 large garlic cloves, minced

2 3/4 teaspoons finely grated lime peel, divided

6 6-ounce skinless salmon fillets (each about 1 inch thick)

9 tablespoons sour cream

3 tablespoons fresh lime juice

Chopped fresh cilantro

Preparation

Toast coriander and cumin seeds in heavy medium skillet over medium-high heat until slightly darker in color and very fragrant, stirring often, 3 to 4 minutes.  Transfer seeds to medium bowl; cool.  Using mortar with pestle, grind seeds to medium consistency (not powder).  Pour seeds into 13x9x2-inch glass baking dish.  Add 6 tablespoons olive oil, garlic, and 2 teaspoons lime peel.  Whisk to blend.  Add salmon to oil-spice mixture in dish.  Turn to coat.  Cover and chill at least 1 hour and up to 3 hours, turning salmon occasionally.

Position rack in top third of oven and preheat to 450 degrees F.  Brush heavy rimmed baking sheet with oil to coat.  Working with 1 fillet at a time, brush off excess spices to leave thin coating.  Arrange fillets on prepared sheet, spacing 2 inches apart.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Roast fillets until just opaque in center, about 7 minutes.

Meanwhile, whisk sour cream, lime juice, and remaining 3/4 teaspoon lime peel in medium bowl to blend.  Season lime cream to taste with salt and pepper.

Arrange fillets on plates.  Sprinkle each generously with chopped cilantro and dollop of lime cream.

Recipe from Bon Appetite

My original inspiration for this recipe came from Sarah at Anything But Academia.  I swoon over the delicious meals she makes all while working her way through med school.  Talk about being a super rock star!  So thanks Sarah for introducing me to my new favorite fish recipe :)

I choose to serve this dish on top of some green rice with a side of roasted broccoli and cauliflower.  The green rice was a nice complement to the coriander flavor of the fish and the sweetness of the roasted vegetables rounded out the meal.  My company was more than pleased with the dinner, which always makes me feel good.  Mission accomplished!

So now that I am a salmon convert, any favorite recipes you want to share with me?

 

Tagged , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Salmon with Coriander Rub and Lime Cream

  1. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Yum salmon & green rice. My favs.

  2. Linda L. Statz says:

    Every morning at work I read your blog to my office mate – trying to make her see what she is missing if she only eats roast beef, fried chicken, mashed potatoes & gravy with an occasional bland pizza, lasagna (no onions, etc) or hamloaf – chocolate cake is dessert. She won’t even taste my homemade soups, etc. She’s 48 and has never tasted the usual vegetables here, let alone in California. Today we even learned a new word – pescetarian. Perhaps I can convince my friend Joy to try this recipe with me – sounds wonderful and so different from my usuals!
    Wish I lived several states closer to you! :-)

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Linda! Wish you lived closer as well so we could enjoy yummy food together. In the meantime, keep up the good work and let me know when Joy decides to take a plunge and try something new :)

  3. Mom says:

    Do you realize how amazing your photos are? I don’t even think I like salmon and I want to take a bite of the plate you made.
    Thanks for linking up to MTM Mondays!

Leave a Reply

