Pork Chops and Sugar Snap Peas with Mint Julep Glaze

It’s been one of those days.  One of those days when a stiff drink would do you good…poured over a thick juicy pork chop, that is.  Yeah.  That’s how we do it over in my neck of the woods.

As I mentioned before, I have never been a big drinker.  So cooking is my remedy for stress.  I love to get lost in the kitchen and put my energy into making something delicious.  And this meal hit the spot.

Truth be told, I have never tried a real Mint Julep myself.  But the name alone conjures up some good memories.  As a kid, we took a family trip to Biloxi, Mississippi.  My dad was there on business, so my mom, brother and I tagged along.  I always love to go to the south.  Everything is so green, the people are so polite and the food is scrumptious!  One of our family friends was traveling with us and was on a mission to try a Mint Julep in every restaurant we visited.  And he always made sure to take a picture…or two.  So here’s to you Joe…another picture of a Mint Julep…of sorts :)

Ingredients

1/2 cup beef broth

6 tablespoons bourbon, divided

1 tablespoon (packed) dark brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon white wine vinegar

2 thick pork rib chops

Ground allspice

1-2 tablespoons butter

4 ounces sugar snap peas

1/4 cup mint chiffonade

Preparation

Stir broth, 3 tablespoons bourbon, sugar, and vinegar in small bowl until sugar dissolves.  Sprinkle pork with salt, pepper and allspice.  Melt butter in a medium skillet over medium-high heat.  Add pork. Saute until just cooked through, about 4 minutes per side (butter will brown).  Transfer pork to platter.

Add bourbon mixture to skillet and bring to a boil.  Add sugar snap peas and cook until crisp-tender, about 2 minutes.  Using slotted spoon, remove peas from skillet and set aside.  Remove skillet from over heat.  Add remaining 3 tablespoons bourbon to sauce in skillet.  Boil over high heat until sauce is reduced to thin glaze and coats spoon lightly, about 3 minutes.  Mix in mint, spoon over pork and serve.

Recipe slightly adapted from Bon Appetit

As much as the pork tries to steal the spotlight in this dish, the snap peas are the true star.  Cooking them in the broth, bourbon mixture gives them a sweet, rich flavor.  And I love the crisp and crunchy texture.  I served this dish with a side of my Mashed Red Potatoes.  They were perfect for sopping up the Mint Julep Glaze.

This recipe would be great for a date night in.   It serves two and has that fancy, restaurant feel (especially with the mint chiffonade…in which I have to give my brother credit.  He taught me how to make those delicate and beautiful herb ribbons).  Or whip it up for an at home Happy Hour, without the buzz.  Either way, it is sure to turn any frown, upside down :)

 

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Pork Chops and Sugar Snap Peas with Mint Julep Glaze

  1. Astrid Henao says:

    Mmm! Date night in sounds nice! Thanks Heather!

  2. Aunt Rosemary says:

    A table for two, please. Served with a diet coke for me. Yummy

  3. mjskit says:

    Coming from the south, I love a good Mint Julep, but I’ve never thought of pouring one on pork chops! :) Your recipe sounds and LOOKS delicious! Going to have to give this one a try.

  4. You’re the bomb girl!!! You’re the #1 feature this week at Mom’s Test Meal Mondays!!! Thanks so much for linking up! I can’t wait to see what you share next week!

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

