What’s in the Box? #21

Look who’s finally legal!  “What’s in the Box?” is officially 21 :)  As well as single, and ready to mingle.  And why not celebrate this wonderful occasion by inviting you all to join in on the fun.  Who’s ready for a “What’s in the Box?” link party!

After starting my “What’s in the Box?” weekly post, I have found so many other bloggers out there who are just as passionate about their produce.  So why not band together and create a space where we can share our weekly produce boxes with each other?  That way we can easily share tips and tricks on how to use some of our rare and obscure fruit and veggie surprises as well as some of our favorite recipes.

New to link parties?  A “link party” is when bloggers “link up” to a host/hostess page to share their common posts.  Click the icon at the end of this post and follow the instructions to add your link.  This link party will begin on Thursdays and last throughout the week.  Feel free to link back to the link party as you share your weekly produce boxes.

I am looking forward to seeing what you all have to share.  It is sure to take my excitement for all things fruits and veggies to a whole new level.

Now on to my box…

Looks like I will have a lot of roasting in my future.  To be honest, I wasn’t always thrilled about cauliflower, but now I look forward to getting it every week.  Roasting cauliflower is my new favorite thing.  I just can’t get enough.  And well asparagus, it’s really the only way I like to cook it.  Roasting veggies give them such an awesome flavor.  It’s simple and easy and oh so yummy.  I can’t wait to get busy.

And with another load of navel oranges, I might just have to prepare another round of Halibut with Oranges.  I know I made it last time I received oranges, but it’s just so good.  Plus Harper is bonkers for fish right now.  And with the roasted asparagus, it will prove to be the perfect meal.

I love getting items like onions and garlic in my box because pretty much all recipes call for at least one or the other…or both.  It is just one less thing I have to pick up at the market, which makes life just a tad bit easier.  This yellow onion might just have a party with that bunch of spinach, or mustard greens.  I love to sauté things with onions.  And so does Freddie.  As long as I put onions in his food, he will pretty much eat anything.  Happy hubby, happy wife!

I am still enjoying snacking on those pixie tangerines.  And apparently so is Harper.  I went to open on the other day and felt like I couldn’t peel it fast enough.  You would think my child was starving.  She was so excited for her slices of sweet and refreshing goodness.  And I can’t blame her.  It hits the spot each and every time :)

One thing she does not like…avocados.  I think she get’s it from her dad.  Freddie is not an avocado fan.  But he LOVES my guacamole.  So as long as the avocados end up in guacamole form, and I make it, he will eat it.  Otherwise, no way.  So we eat our fair share of guacamole in this house.  Which works just fine for me!

And finally, strawberries and red leaf lettuce.  Bet you know where I am going with this one.  I think a Strawberry Salad is in order.  It has been a while since I have made it.  I always intend on eating it as a side, but after going back for seconds and thirds, it ends up being my entire meal…delish :)

So the “What’s in the Box” party is officially on…looking forward to having you!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #21

  1. […] up with Heather from In Her Chucks for What’s in the Box Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry […]

  2. Smedette says:

    What a fun idea! Thank you so much for the invitation to join this link-up. I always try to post a photo and list the contents of my CSA on Wednesdays and then post thoughout the week of what I did with everything.

  3. Dana Staves says:

    Thanks for the comment (and the invite! I just posted my link, though I haven’t posted this week’s recipe yet)! I look forward to seeing what you do with your produce (and the rest of your blog!). (Lord, that’s a lot of exclamation points and parentheticals.)

  4. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Box 21 just as good as box1. Always delicious & a surprise.

  5. Jen says:

    So jealous of the asparagus, avocado, and strawberries! Looks delicious.

  6. rachelocal says:

    You are so lucky to have oranges and avacados in your box! We won’t be getting that in Delaware when my CSA starts in June. This is a great idea! Looking forward to joining in.

  7. sweatermeat says:

    Awwww I would love avocados in CSA! Brooklyn will never have those, haha. I have been addicted to making caulifower “rice” personally. Your strawberry salad looks amazing, i do the same thing with spinach and raspberry vinegarette. I don’t think there’s anything better than fresh fruit n veggies all happy together in a bowl!

    • inherchucks says:

      I guess that is one of the many pleasures of living on the west coast :) I have never had cauliflower rice…do you just steam it and rice it? I couldn’t agree with you more…fresh fruits and veggies hanging out together in a bowl is happiness spelled with a capital “H”!

  8. sweatermeat says:

    I actually grate it raw, and then you can use it as rice, and either steam it, or stir-fry it, etc.

  9. scrumptious says:

    What a great idea! I wish I were getting a box right now so I could play along. I will enjoy living vicariously through all of you, however. :)

  10. I am soooo drooling. CSAs in Wisconsin generally start up mid-June, though this year one of mine has delivered a few limited winter items (stored/greenhouse). Enjoy!

  11. […] up with Heather from In Her Chucks for What’s in the Box Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry […]

  12. […] up with Heather from In Her Chucks for What’s in the […]

Leave a Reply

