Adventures in Baby Food: Snacks

Our journey with solid food has been slow and steady to say the least.  Since first introducing Harper to solid foods, Harper has mostly just been interested in experimenting with different tastes and textures.  She has surprised us by nibbling here and there but seemed to prefer to nurse for her full fill of nutrients.  However, in the last month or so Harper has turned into an eating machine.  She is finally excited about meal time and loves to eat her snacks.

Having a baby that eats solid food on a regular basis is a whole new ballgame.  Now, I have to make sure that I am fully stocked with healthy, convenient and yummy food at all times.  Thank God the milk bar is still open.  Always comes in handy as an option ;)

I look forward to sharing some of Harper’s preferred home cooked meals with you in the near future but I thought I would start with a quick list of some of Harper’s most liked snacks.

1.  Apple Slices:  This has been a go-to snack for Harper since she first got into solid foods.  And for a little girl with only a few teeth, she devours them pretty well.  In the beginning I would peel them but then learned that they would crumble too easily.  So now that I leave the skin on, it seems to be easier for her to eat.  What makes this snack so easy is that apples are readily available, even sliced, so it’s a great option in a pinch.

2.  Baby Carrots:  Harper won’t eat pureed carrots, but she sure will gnaw on a raw one!  And baby carrots are just her size.  When she is teething I will usually give her a large one to chew on that is straight from the fridge.  The coolness of the carrot seems to help sooth her gums.  But for a quick and easy snack, Harper is a happy girl with a fist (or two) fitted with a baby carrot.

3.  Dried Mango:  My girl definitely loves her fruit.  And her new favorite snack is dried mango.  Dried fruit is healthy and convenient.  I am a big fan of anything that travels well.  Not only does Harper enjoy the taste of dried mango, but she likes that she can hold is in her hand and chomp on it by herself.  I buy most of my dried fruit at Trader Joes.  They offer a variety of different kinds of dried fruit and the price is always right.

4.  Puffs:  When I was a kid, I liked to eat Cheerios.  Now, there is a whole new level of Cheerio-ish snacks called puffs.  And babies can’t seem to get enough.  It took Harper a while to get into them, but now she is a definite fan.  I do my best not to load her up on carbs, but a few puffs here and there never hurt.  Plus, they are a great way for her to work on her fine motor skills as she carefully picks each puff up with her pincer grasp.

5.  Seaweed:  Who would have thought that my baby girl would LOVE her seaweed?  And onion flavored at that!  To be honest, I can’t say I am the biggest fan, but I have been found to enjoy a handful or too when I am really hungry (emphasis on the really).  But all jokes aside, this stuff is snack food you can feel good about.  Seaweed is rich in minerals such as iodine, calcium, sodium, magnesium, potassium, iron, zinc, copper and selenium. Also, seaweed provides fiber, vitamins, enzymes and high quality proteins.  So I couldn’t be happier to have Harper start such a healthy habit at her age :)

6.  Snapea Crisps:  Another winner seems to be these light and crunchy Snapea Crisps.  We had received a bag in one of my many subscription boxes and Harper was excited to try some.  Now, we never leave home without them.  She loves that she can hold them by herself.  They taste great and are a healthy alternative to chips.  So I never feel guilty when I accidentally eat half the bag (I do my best to make sure I leave some for Harper…).

When it comes to food on the go, I do my best to offer Harper fruits and veggies whenever possible.  I am grateful that growing up my mom always provided healthy snack choices for me.  So as I got older, instead of chips and crackers, I would crave fresh produce.  My goal in raising Harper is to introduce her to those same type of eating habits, so that she appreciates the value of wholesome, nutritious food.

Your turn!  What are some of your “go-to” baby snacks?  Any foods that you are surprised your baby likes or doesn’t like?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

