What’s in the Box? #22

My first link party was a big success!  Thank you to all of the fellow produce lovers who attended.  If you haven’t had the chance to scope out some of the other CSA boxes around the blogosphere, please visit a few of the links from last week.  There are some beautiful boxes and great recipe ideas.

I am looking forward to more attendees this week.  If you know of anyone who subscribes to a CSA or enjoys purchasing produce at their local farmers market, ask them to link up and share their finds.  The more the merrier!

Before we move on to my box for this week, I wanted to mention a few housekeeping notes that I think might enhance this link party experience.

  1. When applicable, please link up to the URL of the post you wish to share, not the URL of your main blog.  This will help our readers navigate directly to the desired post.
  2. I am in the midst of learning how to create a button you can grab that will help readers navigate back to this post, but in the meantime a simple text link back would be much appreciated.  (ps: while we are on the subject, if you think you can help with the html language of a button, your assistance is much appreciated!)
  3. Share your weekly produce indulgences.  Whether it be your CSA box, Farmer’s Market finds or grocery store binges.  If it is fresh and delicious, we want to see it.  Any posts related to how you prepared it are also welcomed.  Feel free to link up to all of them.
  4. Please leave a comment telling me that you’ve linked up so I can keep track of my attendees.
  5. Please visit at least two other attendees and comment on their wonderful additions to the party.

I think that is all for now.  This is a work in progress, but I am having a blast getting this up and running.  I appreciate your participation in this project and your shared passion for fresh, local and organic fruits and veggies :)

Grateful for another great week of fresh and delicious fruits and vegetables.  My number one prize?  Blueberries!  And they are exactly how I like them.  Plump, crunchy and sweet :)  I have a thing about soft blueberries.  I just can’t eat them.  I need my blueberries to burst when I pop them in my mouth, not ooze.  If I can practice self-control and not eat the entire carton (half of which is already gone) I might get to enjoy a few in a bowl of oatmeal or yogurt.  But it has been a while since I have eaten fresh, raw blueberries, so I can’t promise anything :)

Speaking of raw, celery and carrots are always a healthy, nutritious and delicious raw snack.  Or when you cook them up with some onion and garlic, they make a nice base for soups, stews and sauces.  There is more than enough in each of these bunches to enjoy both ways.  Which works for me.  I love it when I get mileage out of my veggies.

And we might as well address the elephant in the room.  The elephant garlic that is.  The big ol’ white bulb that I initially mistook for a leek.  It’s pretty much the biggest garlic bulb I have ever seen.  This will make an excellent addition to any meal.  As I admire those red potatoes, I can’t’ help but think about spicing up my mashed red potatoes with some of this garlic.  Sounds like the perfect pairing.

You know what else is the perfect pairing?  Broccoli and lemons.  No really…amazing!  As I have mentioned before, I love a batch of simply steamed broccoli.  I typically dress it up with some butter, salt and pepper and a squeeze of lemon.  Kicks it up a notch and gives the broccoli a whole new lease on life.  Try it!

A few weeks back I received my first bunch of dino kale, and ever since then I have boldly declared, that it is by far my favorite variety of kale.  I prepared it with some Turkey Meatballs and it was delish!  I might just have to recreate that masterpiece again.

Last but not least, we have some Murcott Mandarins and green leaf lettuce.  Something tells me there might be a marriage of these too in the future.  My mom used to prepare a delicious salad using these two ingredients so I am going to do my best to get a hold of it.  I need a few more jazzy salads in my life right about now.

Your Turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use these fruits and vegetables?  Feel free to share techniques, tips and recipes.  I look forward to your responses :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

39 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #22

  1. […] to see more awesome CSA goodness?  Check out “What’s In the Box” by In Her Chucks where people from around the country are linking up photos up their weekly […]

  2. Tammy says:

    Awesome garlic bulb! I would’ve mistaken it for a leek also.

  3. We love dino kale also–makes amazing kale chips!!! Will link up!

  4. All linked up! And can I say how jealous I am that you get citrus in your box??? :-)

  5. Your box looks fabulous! Thanks for the link invitation. I love your idea! I also love broccoli and lemon, they go great over whole wheat pasta with a dusting of parm. ;-)

  6. makeitsnappy says:

    Good grief — I’m filled with CSA box envy! :) Blueberries and garlic and citrus?! Lovely. And broccoli with lemon is the way to go. That’s the only way we ate it growing up, but we ate it chilled (and threw a couple of cloves of garlic in for good measure.) Wish I had some right now, come to think of it….

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks:) Fun to check out what others around the country are receiving…the joys of getting what is in season! I will definitely be adding garlic to my next broccoli batch…

  7. adelewayah says:

    I’m linked up! Jealous of your garlic- mine that I am growing won’t be ready until JUNE! http://myyummylocallife.wordpress.com/2012/04/21/north-raleigh-farmers-market-421/

  8. All linked up, what a great idea

  9. […] of the In Her Chucks CSA link party Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:Like2 bloggers like this […]

  10. Jen says:

    Made it just in the nick of time! :)
    I too, am very jealous of your CSA box. Thanks for organizing the link party… I’ll have to write a post to direct my readers to it.

  11. Lauren says:

    Added my link (finally!). Thanks for the nudge. I’ve really enjoyed reading the other links this week, so I’ll make sure to come back for this!

  12. […] The link party conveniently brings together different bloggers who are writing about their CSA goodies. So if you’re interested in what other folks get in their CSA boxes, stop by the party and toss a few back. Have a CSA and interested in joining in the fun? Check it out. […]

  13. […] up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!  PS:  Don’t forget to tell your readers about the party by […]

  14. Linking up another agua fresca. Really good as a margarita mixer – just add sliver tequila and triple sec! Yum.

  15. […] bad, I keep forgetting to add this to my posts but I’m editing it in now: inherchucks has a CSA link party, so if you CSA, stop by and check her out, leave a link to your blog and see what other CSAers are […]

  16. […] check out a weekly “link party” where bloggers near and far share links to their CSA stories and recipes on an inspiring blog […]

  17. Thanks so much for the invite to the link-up! Highlights of our CSA pick-up [featured here : http://sweetbetweens.com/2012/09/02/avalon-acres-csa/%5D are definitely the local chicken legs [perfect seared in a skillet to get crispy skin + then finished in the crockpot for tender juice chicken!] and okra [dry roasted and topped with hot sauce to eat].

  18. indigo jones says:

    I am trying to link up and it says it’s closed. Am I doing this wrong?
    Shari aka indigo jones

    • inherchucks says:

      Sorry for the confusion…Come and link up to this week’s party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/09/19/whats-in-the-box-44/. Click on the blue frog looking icon at the bottom of the post that reads “click to view/add post”. it will take you to the link up page. Scroll down to the bottom and click on the button that reads “add your link.”. It will ask for the url of your post the name of your post and email. Thanks for participating! Let me know if you have any more questions :)

      • indigo jones says:

        Thanks! I think it worked this time! Now what happens next? Is it interactive, or do I just check back? Sorry, I have never done this type of thing before, but I love the idea. I will be a pro next week! :-)

      • inherchucks says:

        It’s up to you. A lot of people like to bop around to other blogs on the link party and check out the recipes, comment, follow. Not required. It’s just a great way to get all of us CSA lovers together to swap ideas, recipes and tricks :) Thanks for linking up! Hope to see you week after week…

      • indigo jones says:

        Thanks! It seemed to go through, but I didn’t see my photo on the page. I will link the next article about how I used my produce and see what happens. Thanks so much!!!

      • inherchucks says:

        it worked. you are #17. Looking forward to seeing what you did with your yummy treats :)

Leave a Reply

