Sole with Grapefruit-Thyme Butter

There is no secret that I have a weakness for the pairing of citrus and fish.  I have enjoyed halibut with navel oranges, tilapia with blood oranges, and now, sole with grapefruit.  Citrus has the ability to make fish taste magical, and it gets me going every time.

Last week my lovely girlfriend Lisa gave me a bag full of homegrown lemons and grapefruits that were freshly picked from her yard.  They were the juiciest and most fragrant bunch of citrus I had ever had the pleasure of tasting.  Beyond delish!  I couldn’t wait to get busy in the kitchen.

Freddie has been asking me to recreate this recipe for a while.  We tried it for the first time last year and it was an instant favorite.  Since Freddie doesn’t find grapefruits on their own very appetizing, whenever I receive grapefruit in my CSA box, I have to find new and creative ways to use them.  So far I have had success with two different grapefruit breads, and this delicious and healthy dinner option.  It’s always good to have a variety of recipes in your back pocket ;)

Ingredients

2 pink grapefruit

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

6 (3- to 4-ounce) sole fillets

Salt

Freshly ground black pepper

1/2 cup dry white wine

2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar

1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger

1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme

6 tablespoons butter, cut into pieces

Preparation

1.  Grate zest from 1 grapefruit to make 1/2 teaspoon; set aside. Peel and section grapefruit, and set aside. Juice remaining grapefruit to make 1/4 cup juice; set aside.

2.  Heat oil and 1 tablespoon butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Sprinkle fillets with salt and pepper. Cook in batches, adding more oil if necessary, 2 minutes on each side or until done. Transfer to a plate, cover, and keep warm.

3.  Combine reserved grapefruit juice, wine, and next 3 ingredients. Bring to a boil over high heat, and cook until reduced to about 1/4 cup. Remove from heat; whisk in 6 tablespoons butter. Stir in reserved grapefruit sections and zest. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve fillets topped with Grapefruit-Thyme Butter.

Recipe from Coastal Living via MyRecipes.com

What I like most about this dish is how yummy and light it is.  I served it with a homemade rice pilaf which helped to soak up all that grapefruit and thyme butter.  Can we say divine?  I also roasted some broccoli and cauliflower for a lovely side of veggies.

Your turn:  What is your favorite way to enjoy grapefruits?  Any special tips or tricks?    

 

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Sole with Grapefruit-Thyme Butter

  1. yum! sounds yummy! I’ve been craving citrus! Will have to try this recipe!

  2. Tammy says:

    Really interesting flavors. I have plenty of grapefruit available right now and thyme!

  3. Mom says:

    That grapefruit butter sounds fabulous! Thanks so much for linking up to MTM Mondays!

Leave a Reply

