Lemon Cake

I have been on a major lemon spree this week.  As I mentioned before in a recent post, I received a few bags full of fresh citrus from my girlfriend Lisa.  So meal planning this week was all about grapefruits and lemons.  I have made Lemon Fish, Lemon Chicken, Lemon Lamb, and now, Lemon Cake.

This cake is one of my childhood favorites.  Having a lemon tree in our front yard, my mom was always finding new and creative ways to use all of the lemons.  This recipe turned out to be a big hit!  Being the professional baker that she is, my mom made her cakes from scratch.  But around my house, I do my best to find shortcuts when I can.  And Dunkin Hines always does me right.

Ingredients

Cake

1 package Duncan Hines Classic Yellow Cake Mix

3 oz package of lemon flavored gelatin (I used Jello brand)

3/4 cup vegetable oil

3/4 cup Kerns Apricot Nectar

2 tsp lemon juice

Glaze

Zest from 2 lemons

1/2 cup lemon juice (about 2 lemons juiced

2 cups powdered sugar

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease and flour a bundt pan or spring mold pan.

Add cake mix, Jello mix, oil, nectar, lemon juice and eggs to bowl of electric mixer.  Blend on medium speed for 5 minutes.  Pour cake batter into prepared pan.  Bake for 35-40 minutes.

Cool on rack for 15 minutes.  Remove cake from pan and place on a cooling rack,

Mix lemon zest, lemon juice and powdered sugar until the sugar is completely dissolved.  Poke holes in cake with a toothpick.  Pour glaze evenly on top of the cake while cake is warm so glaze will absorb into the cake.

The secret ingredient in this cake is the apricot nectar.  I love how it adds such incredible flavor and helps make the cake super moist.  The Jello is a bit unexpected but works wonders by creating a soft but spongy texture.  And the addition of the fresh lemon juice and zest gives it that extra punch of lemony goodness.

This cake is delicious and refreshing.  Enjoying a slice after dinner is the perfect treat to round out any meal.  And even though growing up my mom never served this for breakfast, I have to admit it hits the spot with a cup of tea early in the A.M.  Kind of gets my engines roaring.  So whether you eat it in the morning, noon or night, this cake is sure to make your tummy do the happy dance…yum, yum!

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Lemon Cake

  1. Aunt Rosemary says:

    I love Duncan Hines. I could eat this cake morning, noon & night.

  2. Ashley Barnas says:

    This sounds incredibly delicious. I can taste it just thinking about it!

Leave a Reply

