What’s in the Box? #24

Happy May everyone!  Can you believe we are nearly halfway through 2012?  Crazy, huh?  Time is a tricky thing.  That is why I do my best to live in the moment, and enjoy where I am right now.  And Wednesdays are always good to me.  Nothing puts a smile on my face more than a fresh box of produce.  Because in case you haven’t noticed, I am a huge nerd when it comes to fruits and veggies, and yes, my day is made by the sight of this lovely goodness.

I want to thank all of my link party participants from last week :)  We had 11 bloggers join in.  That’s the most we have ever had.  I love how we are growing!  Let’s see if we can top that for #24 :)

New to the link party?  Check out the guidelines here.

Guess it’s my turn to gush…

A lovely rainbow of vitamins and nutrients.  Definitely most excited about the strawberries.  I have been on a recent kick of belgium waffles with homemade whipped cream topped with sliced strawberries for breakfast.  Don’t mind me while I indulge.  It’s a habit I picked up when I was little.  My family and I used to enjoy brunch on Sundays at a local beach club and this was by far my favorite item at the buffet.  And I have to say, Trader Joe’s makes a mean batch of frozen Belgium waffles.  Makes it an easy treat!  And while we are on the subject of breakfast, did you happen to see the size of those spring onions?  Biggest I have ever seen!  They smell delicious and will be the perfect addition to Freddie’s morning eggs.  Wouldn’t those pixie tangerines and star ruby grapefruits make a mean fresh juice to serve alongside our breakfast of champions?  Yeah, I think I just kicked it up a notch…

Mashed potatoes anyone?  I feel a delicious dinner coming on using those Yukon gold potatoes and that lovely rainbow chard and possibly the stir fry mix as well.  Now to figure out the protein.  I am still kind of loving the whole lamb idea.  I might just have to find a few more recipes to add to my repertoire.

And then there is our ever loyal lettuce.  As I mentioned before, sometimes salads can get old…quick.  So I am constantly thinking of new and creative ways to use my lettuce.  This week…I got nothing.  Although lettuce always works great for a garnish on a sandwich or burger.  Not the most fancy or exciting choice, but it will do.  Because just in case you didn’t know…lettuce doesn’t freeze well.  And yes, I tried it.  Back in college.  I was an amateur and was doing my best not to waste.  Just thought I would pass that bit of info along.  True story.

The cauliflower?  Already gone.  Demolished.  Loved it!  My new favorite way to eat it is to roast it.  And it turns out divine.  Wish it could have stuck around a little longer but my belly had other plans.  For dessert?  I am in the mood for some beet cake.  It has been too long since I reunited with my old friend.  And I think it is time that my beet cake makes a comeback.  Already drooling.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipes, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to hearing your responses :)


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

37 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #24

  1. Tammy says:

    What a colorful box!

  2. Yum. I can’t wait until our CSA starts up. I got spinach at the farmer’s market this week but that was about it. The spring market starts in another week or two, so hopefully soon we’ll have a picture to share on your link-up (our CSA doesn’t start for about another month up here :-)
    I had a total Beet Cake Fail– the presence of beets was detected by the troops. I still have beets in my freezer from my fall CSA…. I need to get motivated to use them.

  3. Smedette says:

    I try to change up salads by going all fruit (strawberries and blueberries are good with lettuce) or something more savory. But, I agree, they can get old. Do you make your own dressings? That might be a way to change things up, too.

    As usual, your box is beautiful!

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Smedette! I actually have a strawberry salad that I make which is quite lovely. But blueberries sound glorious! I could hang with that :) I ALWAYS make my own dressings. So easy now that I have a Vitamix :) and really nothing compares. Thanks for your suggestions. Looking forward to you linking up!

  4. debbrunson says:

    Love this week’s box!! 5 weeks and counting…

  5. Sharlea says:

    Thursdays are my veggie box days. It’s funny to compare how different our seasons are. Nevada is just getting started. Here’s the link to my ‘first’ post. http://wp.me/p2o6Lp-a Hopefully, I’ll have a nice box of goodies to post later this evening.

    • inherchucks says:

      Awesome! Can’t wait to see what goodies you receive :)

      I too have enjoyed comparing how different everyone’s produce is depending on the season. It makes me grateful for where I live. And reminds me not to complain about my ever growing collection of citrus…something that most of my followers seem to envy ;)

      • Sharlea says:

        I don’t think we will see any citrus. The best I can hope for (and I pray) is a lemon cucumber. They are one of my favorite favorite favorites!

      • inherchucks says:

        I LOVE lemon cucumbers! My cousin grows a bunch in her garden so she usually shares her load with me. Hoping and praying you get some :)

  6. Lauren says:

    Linked! This is becoming one of my favorite new ways to find recipes to try. Thanks for hosting!

  7. Cool idea! Excited to leave a link :)

  8. RedShoes51 says:

    I had to come and check this out just for the Chuck reference… :oD

    Found you from Jessica’s…

    ~shoes~

  9. Sharlea says:

    Here’s a look at Week #2 for me. http://wp.me/p2o6Lp-1k Lovin’ my CSA boxes!

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks for the link Sharlea. Do you mind adding it to the link up but clicking on the icon and following the directions…its the little blue frog looking thing :) Thanks!

  10. […] of the In her Chucks CSA Link party Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  11. All linked up, again still jealous of those amazing looking strawberries

  12. Alyson says:

    Your box looks great! I linked up my farmers market finds.

  13. You can always add lettuce to your smoothies! great way to use it up without wasting.

  14. Just linked up! Everything in this box is beautiful – and I am definitely going to try beet cake!

  15. Ashley Barnas says:

    Just added my chicken fettuccine and broccoli rabe link, as requested! Thanks for asking me!

  16. Lesley says:

    Very excited to join the link party! I’m definitely from a cooler climate than you–I just received my first CSA box, and there were definitely no oranges. Lots and lots of leafy greens though!

    I have a question for fellow CSA members: Even though my leafy greens are fresh off the farm, they’re wilting pretty quickly. Does anyone have a suggestion on how to stop this? I can only eat so much lettuce in a day, so some of it has to last me the week.

    • inherchucks says:

      Hey Lesley…thanks for joining in! We are glad to have you.

      As for your dilemma…I know what you mean. It is hard to eat salad 24/7! Here are some storage tips I got from my CSA delivery…

      Salad Greens: Lettuce will perish quickly if not stored properly. Lettuces like moisture and cool temperatures, so store lettuce in perforated plastic bags wrapped in damp paper towels, and keep in the refrigerator vegetable crisper.

      Spinach: When you get bunched spinach home, untie it, remove any blemished leaves, trim off the stems, and wash it thoroughly in cold water. Repeat if necessary until you’re sure all the grit is gone. Spin dry in a salad spinner or drain well, then put into clean plastic bags very loosely wrapped with paper towels. It will last only two to three days, so plan on eating your rinsed spinach right away. Cold, moist surroundings, as low as 32°F and about 95% humidity are the best for storing spinach.

      I also like to cook with greens…whether it be sauté them, adding them to soup, or hiding them in a smoothie. It’s all about being creative!

      Hope this helps! I look forward to hearing how things pan out.

      • Lesley says:

        Thanks for the tips! I did notice that the lettuce that came in a plastic bag is still fresh and green, so maybe that’s the key.

  17. […] had a favorite band called The Beets (a joke on The Beatles). As I made this beet cake, inspired by this post on In Her Chuck’s blog and an abundance of fresh beets, I could not get this song by The Beets out of my […]

Leave a Reply

