Snickers Cookies

Guess who’s still on the holiday train?  Yep, me, that’s who.  This Sunday is Mother’s Day and yet another excuse to bake up some delicious treats!

I baked these cookies for my mom, who flew all the way from Ireland to spend my second Mother’s Day with me.  It has been a while since I have seen her, so I wanted to make this trip extra special.  My mom has a love for all things Snickers.  I can remember when my brother and I were little and my mom would always insist on “quality controlling” our candy.  But she would ever open and eat one kind…Snickers.  Interesting…and creative.  I plan on “quality controlling” all of Harper’s Halloween candy too…wink, wink :)

I was inspired to try these cookies when I came across this recipe.  I made one batch, and even though they were delicious, they weren’t the cookies I remember my mom making as a kid.  So I pulled out a bag of Toll House Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips and started my second batch of cookies, using their original recipe.  I replaced their recommendation for 2 cups of chocolate chips with chopped Snickers and omitted the nuts.  The result, pure heaven!

Ingredients

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 large eggs

2 cups chopped Snickers

Preparation

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Combine flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl.  Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract in large mixer bowl until creamy.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Gradually beat in flour mixture.  Stir in Snickers.  Drop by rounded tablespoons onto ungreased baking sheets.

Bake for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Recipe slightly adapted from Original Nestle Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies

I don’t know about you but I love my cookies to be a little gooey in the middle.  So I took them out right before they were ready.  That way they stay soft and chewy.  I always enjoy my cookies with a glass (or two) of fat-free milk.  Hits the spot every time :)

Your turn:  What’s your mom’s favorite dessert?  Any special plans for Mother’s Day?  Looking forward to hearing all about it!

MeAndMySweets

Tagged , , , ,

19 thoughts on “Snickers Cookies

  1. Those look FANTASTIC

  2. naimeless says:

    This sounds wonderful – I’m definitely going to try it out this weekend :)

  3. Aunt Rosemary says:

    We called them snicker doodles. Still the same delicious recipe.

  4. These cookies look amazing! I love the Nestle Toll House cookie recipe and I love Snickers. I might just have to give these a whirl. ;-)

  5. Margaret says:

    These look fantastic. Can’t wait to try! (though something tells me they won’t turn out as nice as yours…)

  6. foodyrach says:

    Two words: I WANT

  7. These sound amazing! Cookies & candy in one?? SOLD! I would love to have you share these at Mom’s Test Meal Mondays!

    Hope you have a great day!

Leave a Reply

