15 Months

15 months ago I could have never imagined the type of love I would have for this little girl.  15 months ago I couldn’t have ever fathomed the level of joy her smile would bring to my life.  15 months ago I was blessed with the most incredible daughter anyone could ever ask for, and not a day goes by that I don’t express my gratitude for it.

As I say every month, the time is going by WAY TOO FAST!  And as each month whizzes by, it feels like the time is moving even faster.  Someone asked me today, how old Harper was.  After stopping to think a bit, I realized…she’s 15 months!  Didn’t I just publish her 14 month post?  Wasn’t she just learning to walk?  Nevertheless, Harper continues to grow and change and she is now officially a toddler…although she will always be my baby.

Harper’s Firsts:

First Time Saying Her Name:  Harper’s daddy is always teaching her new things.  A few weeks ago, while Harper and her daddy were spending some special time together (and mommy was catching up on some rest…), he taught her how to say her name.  If you ask her what her name is, she says, “Haw-pa”.  It’s kind of the cutest thing ever and it definitely melts my heart.

First “Girls Weekend”:  My mom came to town to visit, so Harper and I took a road trip to meet her in the city to spend a few nights together, just us girls.  It was our first time away from daddy and our first time attempting a long drive on our own.  I was hoping Harper would take a nap or be entertained by her DVDs (yes, my little girl has a DVD player in the car…something I promised myself I would never do…I totally caved!).  Unfortunately, she wanted no part of either and cried the entire way.  I stopped a few times to comfort her and help her calm down.  As soon as I would take her our of her seat she was happy as a clam.  But as soon as I would put her back in her seat she would start to fuss again.  Harper has never been a fan of the car so this wasn’t a huge surprise, but for the next road trip, I am going to make sure we bring daddy along so one of us can be in the back to keep little Ms. Harper company.

First Mother’s Day with Grandma:

This was my second Mother’s Day with Harper.  It has quickly become my favorite holiday :)  But this year was extra special because my mom was in town.  So it was a celebration of 3 generations.  Harper loves her “Amma” and enjoyed spending time with her.  Grandma and Harper took some strolls in the neighborhood together, played at the park, read books…you name it, they did it!  Harper loves her Grandma so much.  She can’t wait until Grandma comes back for another visit soon.

Harper’s Favs:

Favorite Toy:  Harper loves working on her puzzles.  She got two great puzzles for her birthday and is having a ball learning how to fit the pieces into their designated spots.  She enjoys exploring her shapes and colors (Thanks Clara!), and has fun dancing along to Old Mac Donald (Thanks Forest!).

Favorite Song:  Harper has been attending my music classes since she was about 6 months old.  At the beginning of each class, we always sing a “Hello Song“.  In the midst of welcoming our music makers while singing their names, there are a few parts where instead of using words, we just sing “uh-huh”.  Whenever we are getting ready to go to music class, I always sing this song to Harper.  The other day she sang “uh-huh” back to me for the first time.  So now, whenever I sing “Time for music” to her, I wait for her to sing the “uh-huh” back to me.  Such a special moment :)

Favorite Book:  As Harper continues to learn more words, she is enjoying reading Richard Scarry’s Early Words.  She likes to point to the rabbit brushing his teeth, and then proceeds to pretend to brush her own teeth.  She likes to find the rabbits shoes, socks and hat and loves to repeat the words after I read them.  It is such a joy to watch my little girl expand her vocabulary.

Harper Has…

Good Manners:  Growing up, my parents taught me the importance of having good manners.  In the midst of raising my own child, I am doing my best to pass on this important social skill.  Before Harper could use her words, I taught her a handful of signs.  “Please” was one of the first signs I taught her.  I would prompt her to say it whenever she would ask for something.  In the past month, Harper has become so polite, and always remembers to use her manners.  In fact, when she wakes up in the middle of the night for her feedings, I hear her saying, “please”.  And my answer is always…yes.  Can’t turn an adorable baby who is using her manners down…total softy :)

A Big Girl Table:  Now that Harper is cruising around the house on her own, we wanted to give her a space where she can practice her artwork, work on her puzzles or enjoy a snack.  We found this adorable table at Ikea with chairs to match and it is now one of Harper’s favorite places to be.  As soon as she wakes up in the morning she says “sit” and walks over to her table and wants to “color”.

An Addiction to Shoes (or should we blame that on her Daddy…):  Since Harper has become a walker, it is important that she wear proper shoes.  For most babies, ONE pair is plenty.  However, when it comes to Harper, her daddy is convinced that she needs MULTIPLE pairs of shoes.  Every time I turn around, he has gone shopping and picked up yet another new pair of shoes for her.  He just can’t help but spoil her!

I have had some pretty awesome jobs in my lifetime, but being a mommy is hands down, the best one yet.  It’s a lot of hard work and a ton of responsibility but the pay is unmatched.  Seeing my little girl grow up right in front of my eyes is an amazing reward.  I love her more each and every day.

Happy 15 Month Birthday Harper Marie!  Mommy and Daddy love you :)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “15 Months

  1. Courtney says:

    Happy 15 months Harper!

  2. Marcee says:

    Beautiful + heartwarming post!

    You go “Haw-pa” ….. @ 15 months old ….. such a cutie-pie!!

  3. Happy 15 months Haw-pa! Nice shades! Beautiful post…love the pic of you 3
    Pappou loves you!

  4. Cassie says:

    She is like the cutest little girl ever, my goodness! I love your blog dedicated to her and being a mom. It’s wonderful.

  5. Enjoy–before you know it she’ll be in college! (But that’s fun too!)

    • inherchucks says:

      I will…I can only imagine how quickly these years are going to go by. It felt like yesterday that she was a baby in my arms…savoring every single moment :)

  6. Lauren says:

    I didn’t know Harper was so close in age to Nora — she’s 17 months. Such a fun age!

  7. Tammy says:

    Such a cute photo! Enjoy every minute. My oldest is 15 years now and it flew past!

  8. Aunt Rosemary says:

    Such a darling picture of the three of you. Love ya

Leave a Reply

