What’s in the Box? #27

TGIW!  I might be the only person in the world who looks forward to Wednesdays, but Wednesdays are always so good to me.  And I am sure by now, we all know why

In addition to looking forward to my lovely box, I can’t wait to get a new link party started!  Last week we had 22 submissions!  A great turnout :)  I am having such a wonderful time connecting with everyone and learning about all of the new fruits and veggies.  You all are spoiling me with your awesome recipes.  Super CSA Rock Stars!  Thank you for continuing to participate.  I am loving the variety of produce that I am seeing and am digging your creativity on how to use it.

Speaking of variety…

There is a little bit of everything in this box.  Including a rainbow of colors :)

I can’t help but start with the red spring onions.  My gosh are they potent!  I think I got onion breath just by smelling them.  Now that’s fresh!  I probably won’t even get a chance to touch these bad boys.  Freddie already has dibs on them.  He might even eat them raw…yeah, he loves onions THAT much!  You know what else he loves?  Potatoes.  And he is especially a fan of my potatoes.  But this week, I really want to try out some homemade breakfast potatoes.  Maybe even hash browns.  It depends on how much energy I have when breakfast rolls around…can’t say I am much of a morning person.

But I am a cherry person!  Before I could get the veggies in the fridge I already devoured my cherries.  Is it possible that they are even better than the week before?  I attempted to share a few with Harper but she wasn’t too interested.  Which meant, there was more for me…YAY!  I almost dove into the strawberries too, but decided to save those for breakfasts and snacks.  I love popping a few into my yogurt and then topping it with a handful of granola…yum :)

I am super excited about the spinach.  It is one of my favorite veggies.  I tend to just like it sautéed.  I know that sounds boring, but it makes the perfect side dish for a healthy meal.  I will most likely add a handful of chopped elephant garlic too for extra flavor.  I love how mild elephant garlic is.  To be honest, the first time I received it in my box I was scared to use it because judging from the name, I thought the flavor would be overpowering (because elephants are ginormous animals…).  But since I have tried it, I actually prefer elephant garlic over regular garlic.

With a luscious head of green leaf lettuce, and a lovely bunch of celery, I can’t help but dream about a delicious salad.  I was once uninspired by lettuce, but since starting the link party, I have seen so many wonderful, colorful and flavorful salads, I look forward to exploring the possibilities.  Another veggie that has been sparking my creativity lately is beets.  You all have such amazing ideas for this humble root.  I have seen everything from beet soup, to beet chips, to beet salad and beyond!  Thank you for helping me expand my repertoire :)

I am not normally a fan of juice.  I tend to prefer sparkling water or tea, but I am currently loving fresh squeezed citrus juice.  And the pixie tangerines might be my favorite.  They are a great balance between sweet and tart, and make for a perfect beverage treat!  Not to mention boosting my immune system, to help keep the germs at bay.  Gotta love a good dose of Vitamin C!

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipes, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to hearing your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

26 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #27

  1. Mason says:

    My favorite thing for beets is borscht, and you can make it with just about anything. I usually use cabbage, onions, and carrots. This is similar to the recipe I use (which I might share next week if we pick up some beets – almost made it this week!): http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2009/02/dinner-tonight-vegetarian-borscht-recipe.html

  2. Dana Staves says:

    Can’t wait to join this week’s link party! I just shelled a ton of peas yesterday, and I’ve got fresh mint just waiting to go in for my meatless meal tonight. Favorite thing to do with beets: roasted beets and sweet potatoes. Here’s the recipe (in an article I wrote – my first ever CSA article!): http://www.altdaily.com/blogs/food-blogs/recipes-blogs/the-five-points-recipe-round-up.html

  3. Ashley Barnas says:

    I’m so jealous of your fruits, especially the cherries! Oh, my gosh.

  4. Thanks for visiting my little blog Kelleygreen! Your CSA box is definitely enviable. But I gather you are not in the north east, where the organic produce is just coming in. I am looking forward to more bountiful shares in the weeks to come. And the link party is great, thanks for the invite!!
    http://kelleygreen.me/

  5. Linda L. Statz says:

    I wish I could find elephant garlic – I love it but haven’t seen it in many years – and then only in my girl friend’s garden.

    • inherchucks says:

      I can’t say that I have seen it in the markets either…do they have famers markets around? Have you looked into a CSA program in town? With the weather changing there might be some nice options :)

  6. Curly Bug says:

    Almost have my post ready for the link-up but wanted to share two of my favorite ways to use the beets that come in our CSA box. 1) Beet and Blueberry muffins– http://curlybug.wordpress.com/2012/03/12/kid-approved-beet-and-blueberry-muffins/ and 2) Beets Gratin– http://curlybug.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/beets-gratin-to-the-rescue/

    Both recipes are so good and use up those beets in a delicious way. Enjoy!

  7. Zest Blog says:

    Thank you for the invite!! I added our spring onions and garlic to our bean soup with greens…it took away some of that bite! http://zestblog.com/2012/05/27/csa-soup/

  8. Shalama Jackson says:

    Thanks for the invite. I also look forward to Wednesdays. I can’t wait for tomorrow.

    I don’t think the cherries would have made it home with me either. When we got strawberries in our boxes earlier in the season, they were devoured right away.

    I look forward to sharing what I get tomorrow during my weekly Christmas delivery.

  9. Amber says:

    I definitely need advise as to how to handle beets… That’s what the big problem is with my share this week! henambj.wordpress.com

    • inherchucks says:

      There are some awesome recipes shared by participants in the comments above…as well as some in my recipe section (for beet cake and cupcakes!). Feel free to browse through older link parties for even more beet goodness! Hope you can find something you like :)

  10. Zest Blog says:

    We haven’t gotten beets yet, but we often just roast them to be used as a side dish or in salads. I am thinking that I will try to roast our turnips with some beets and garlic. In the mean time…here is what we are making with garlic scapes and arugula :) http://zestblog.com/2012/05/29/arugula-and-garlic-scape-pesto

Leave a Reply

