What’s in the Box? #28

It’s the last Wednesday in May and we are flying into summer!  Summer is my favorite time of year.  I love how the days are getting longer and the weather is getting warmer.  And the fruit…oh, the fruit!  I can’t wait to get CSA deliveries of peaches, nectarines, and apricots.  I live for summer produce :)

I am thrilled about how quickly our link party is picking up steam.  Last week we had 30 entries!  So many wonderful recipes and creative ideas on how to use all of your CSA fruits and veggies.  I continue to be inspired.  Thank you for your participation!  I hope you are having as much fun as I am :)

Now on to the goods…

Hello hot pink radishes!  I just love how vibrant they are.  They kind of make me want to paint my nails that color.  Because, neon is totally “in” you know :)  Normally, I would be stumped with what to do with these puppies, but thanks to all of the link party participants, I think I have a good handle on them.  I have been seeing some delicious recipes flying around.  Everything from radish sandwiches, to radish flatbread, to radish crepes.  Or I could keep it simple and add them to the salad I plan to make with that lovely head of lettuce.  It’s nice to have so many options :)

I was super excited to see the zucchini.  I have been waiting for the summer squash season to start.  And I didn’t waste any time putting them to use.  They were gone before they even knew what happened to them.  Tonight, I cooked up a batch of Turkey Burgers with Zucchini and Carrots and a side of Zucchini Fries.  Hit the spot!  I was planning on using the fresh carrots that came in the box today, but I had a few yellow carrots leftover from the last delivery.  But I am sure we will find something to do with these carrots.  Cupcakes anyone?

Harper and I had a great time munching on the cherries and strawberries this afternoon.  Check her out in action.

They were the best strawberries yet.  So sweet and juicy.  Harper agrees, strawberries make a great snack!

The past few times I have received grapefruits I enjoyed making fresh squeezed juice.  But after checking out this recipe from last week’s link party, I am dying to give it a try.  Broiled grapefruit?  Sounds good to me!

I am sure the broccoli will be gone by tomorrow.  It’s a great, easy side dish.  Simply steamed with some butter, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  But the radicchio…not so sure.  The last time I received radicchio in my box, I gave this recipe a try.  Not a winner :(  The concept was cool though…so I might give another recipe a shot.  I have a hard time eating radicchio on its own because it’s so bitter!  So any and all suggestions on how to prepare these lovely leaves would be greatly appreciated :)

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipes, tips or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to hearing your responses :)

Linking up for the first time?  Click here for more info…and Welcome!


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

34 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #28

  1. Today is our first pick-up day – hope to have a box as beautiful as yours….with some of those neon-pink radishes ;-)

  2. Did those cherries happen to make it into the kitchen this time? :chuckles: Your box is beautiful! I’m a little jealous of those great broccoli heads!

  3. food4five says:

    We are in countdown mode here – only 6 more days until our first CSA pickup! In terms of raddichio – we usually add it directly to our salads, but it is awesome grilled too!

  4. That box looks delicious…and Harper proves it! She is too adorable.

  5. Where is the link party link? I have recipes…

  6. […] is part of Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Make it Gluten-Free Tuesdays, What’s in the Box, and  Allergy-Free Wednesday. Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestEmailPrintLike this:Like19 […]

  7. […] always, this post is part of the What’s In the Box? link party hosted by In Her Chucks. Check out all the other posts here! Share […]

  8. Mason says:

    All linked up!

    I made a carrot-oatmeal breakfast muffin the other week that was pretty awesome. I just used a basic oatmeal muffin recipe from my good ol’ Better Homes and Gardens cookbook and added shredded carrots. Sweet, veggie-filled, and for breakfast – doesn’t get much better.

  9. Kelly says:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I haven’t forgotten about your CSA blog link thing, I just haven’t had much time to figure out how to do it (I suck at computers).

    • inherchucks says:

      Start by copying and pasting the URL for your post. Then head on over to my page and click on the blue frog. It will prompt you to add a link. Past your URL in the proper field and complete the rest of the questions (name of post, etc). Let me know if you need any more help :)

  10. Lauren says:

    I cannot WAIT for peaches. Mmm…

    I had to giggle at the photos of Harper. How do you get her not to eat the stem end first? Nora always wants to go for the green. ;)

  11. The cherries look amazing! And I just learned my first box will come next week–a week early. (Had to share that with you!)

  12. Ashley Barnas says:

    Harper is so beautiful! What a sweetheart.

  13. Hi!

    You joined My Sweet Party in May and in a few days I’ll feature my top three favourites. So make sure to visit soon to see if your recipe was one of my favourites.

    Today there’s a new month and a new theme. I really hope you’d like to join again!

    http://meandmysweets.blogspot.se/2012/06/my-sweet-party-june-summer-fruits.html

    XX

  14. Jen says:

    OK, all linked up!
    I’m envious of all of the fruit you get. Hoping that we’ll get more as the summer progresses… I think that tomatoes might be coming in a few weeks. Exciting!

  15. Linked up. We got radicchio too. I’m trying it in pasta (as you may have already noted). Gorgeous fruit. Jealous of that, for sure.

  16. […] to What’s in the Box? Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestEmailPrintLike this:Like7 bloggers like this […]

  17. Lesley says:

    So jealous of your fruit! Unfortunately, our unseasonably warm March followed by freezes in April decimated the strawberry crops here in Wisconsin. I really feel for our CSA farm. But we’re still getting a little pint of the berries that made it.

  18. Mason says:

    Linked the kale and garlic scape hummus recipe, and actually linked the beet pizza recipe – apparently I didn’t follow that one all the way through to the end when I thought I linked it the other day!

Leave a Reply

