Healthy Surprise

My addiction continues…I’m hooked on yet another subscription box.  But this box is different.  This box is filled with healthy, delicious snacks that are natural, vegan and gluten-free.  So you can enjoy yourself without feeling guilty.  And trust me…you will indulge!

Healthy Surprise is a service that delivers packages of delicious snacks directly to your door on a monthly basis.  All of the products are natural, vegan and gluten-free.  Similar to other subscription boxes I have tried in the past, each month’s box boasts a different assortment of sweet and savory snacks, allowing customers to be introduced to a variety of new products and brands.

The name for this company is perfect.  Not only do they encourage and support a healthy lifestyle, but truth be told, I was very surprised at how yummy everything was.  As someone with a serious sweet tooth, I had reservations about some of the cookies and bars.  Could something that was good for me actually satisfy my sugar habit (which, by the way, I am trying desperately to kick…)?  The answer is yes…100 times over…YES!

I am so excited to share these amazing goodies with you I can’t help but dive right in.  So here it goes…

Bare Fruit: Granny Smith Apple Chips– I have been a fan of apple chips for quite some time now.  My mom used to pack them in our lunches growing up.  So it was really nice to take a walk down memory lane as Harper and I enjoyed a few handfuls.  Filled with tons of fiber and vitamins, these chips are a great way to satisfy your snack craving while fulfilling your “apple a day” quota.

Bliss Bar: Honey Gold–  I am so in love with the Bliss Bar, I wish I had an entire case full.  Then again…I might end up with a tummy ache if I ate them all at once (because I have officially lost all self-control…).  Not only are these things ridiculously delicious, but they are packed with everything that is good for your body.  Protein rich and filled with potent energy enhancing superfoods, essential enzymes and immune enhancing properties, this tiny little snack is more than a yummy treat.  I can’t wait to get my hands on some more…

Living Intentions: Gone Nuts! Thai Curry Lemon Cashews, Almonds and Coconuts– If I wasn’t a total wimp in the heat department, I would scarf this down by the handful.  But unfortunately, I just can’t hang when it comes to spice.  Nevertheless, I couldn’t help but taste it.  Once I got past the fact that my mouth was literally on fire (only because I am true amateur), I was impressed by the savory curry taste.  For those who enjoy snacks that are full of flavor, this is the perfect choice for you.  I’m looking forward to checking out the Sesame Teriyaki or Raw Cacao Brazil Nuts.  Those variations are more my speed :)

Hail Merry: Vanilla Maple Almonds–  Ever tried a nut that tasted like cookie dough?  Yeah, these babies are THAT good!  And they are good for you too.  Full of oleic acid, these snacks can actually improve cholesterol profile, reduce inflammation and make skins and hair more radiant.  What’s not to love about these things?

Happy Hemp– Hemp seeds are one of the most nutritious and delicious foods on earth.  They are full of protein, fiber and essential amino and heart healthy fatty acids.  Adding a sprinkle of hemp seeds to your ordinary meals can elevate them to super-food status without changing the flavor.  I have had hemp seeds before but wasn’t aware of their amazing benefits.  I can’t wait to make hemp seeds a part of my daily diet.  Starting with this smoothie recipe.

Home Free: Vanilla Mini Cookies– I have officially turned into the gluten-free cookie monster!  These vanilla mini cookies are to die for.  Good thing I received two bags, because Freddie and I were having a hard time sharing with each other :)  Multi-award winning (I can see why…) these cookies are free of the top eight allergens.  Which means they can be enjoyed by all!

Oskri: Coconut Bar Cherry– My dad is the try coconut lover in the family, but to my surprise, this bar wasn’t too bad.  What usually turns me off about coconut is its gritty texture.  But this bar was soft, chewy and smooth.  With a variety of flavors to choose from, there is sure to be one that tickles your fancy.  I am drooling over the Mango and Pineapple.  Talk about a tropical vacay in your mouth!

Skinny Crisps: Cinnamon Crisps– When you offer your guests a bag of Cinnamon Crisps and it comes back empty, that means that they were good right?  Tonight ended up being an impromptu movie night at our house and these were the perfect after meal treat.  Similar to a cinnamon graham cracker without the added junk, these yummy snacks are low in carbs so they have little effect on your blood sugar.  Which means you can satisfy your sweet tooth without your body even knowing it…where were these when I was pregnant?

Two Moms in the Raw: Cranberry Nut Bar– Described as a cinnamon roll without the roll, this bar is a great combination of nuts, fruit and spices.  A perfect pairing of sweet and salty, I also can’t get enough of the contrast of crunchy and chewy.  I have tried my fair share of fruit and nut bars in the past, but this one is by far the best.  Full of flavor and healthy goodness, it’s the perfect treat any time of day.

At first glance, if you would have told me that I was going to love every single item in this box, I wouldn’t have believed you.  As much as I consider myself a healthy person, I have my reservations about going raw, vegan and gluten-free.  I love my carbs, I love my meat, I love my sugar (all in moderation of course…).  And most of all, I don’t want to feel deprived.  Well, this experience has clearly opened up my eyes to a whole new world.  These snacks have proved to me that you can enjoy yummy treats while eating well.  I am truly inspired.

Thank you Healthy Surprise, for educating me on all of the nutritious and delicious snacking options that exist out there.  I couldn’t be more happy with my introduction to your subscription service.  I appreciate your commitment to natural, vegan and gluten-free foods, and your desire to educate others about the wonderful benefits of eating well.

Interested in changing your snacking habits?  Click here for more information on the four different subscription boxes that Healthy Surprise currently offers.

* Full Disclosure:  Healthy Surprise provided me with a Starter Box free of charge.  I was not paid to write this post.  With exception of some of the factual information given about the various products, all opinions regarding the products are my own and 100% honest.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “Healthy Surprise

  1. Wow! I’ll see if they can deliver way up here in the mountains. Thanks for sharing!

  2. scrumptious says:

    This sounds great! I don’t know if I personally would want to spend that much money a month on snacks as my snacking preferences tend to lean toward sugar snap peas and clementines, but I loved reading your review and hearing about all the cool products out there. I think this would be great for offices that have treats delivered – there would finally be something for the gluten-free and vegan employees to munch on!

    • inherchucks says:

      I tend to munch on fresh produce from my CSA myself too but its nice to know that there are some healthy and delicious options out there. The price is fair considering all of the product you get and their individual prices. It just seems like a lot because you are paying it up front…but even crap snack foods get pricey. I would rather pay my money towards food that I know is good for me :)

  3. Until reading your blog, I had no idea such services existed. It’s like sending yourself a gift every month! Love it. I’m anxious to check some of these things out.

  4. A Table in the Sun says:

    Fun reviews of products. I read about a group of people that were doing this same concept as an exchange rather than a business. I don’t remember what it was called, but I thought it was so cool to get a box of surprises each month. Even more fun shopping for surprises!

  5. meg says:

    Wow! Talk about fun mail! I haven’t tried any of those products, and they sound delicious. I’m always looking for new healthy snacks — thanks for sharing your take on these.

  6. This one looks great! I just got my first from Klutchbox to review…post should be up Wed. Thanks to you I’m a subscription box fan!!! ;)

    • inherchucks says:

      I have never heard of Klutchbox before. Can’t wait to read what it is all about :) Welcome to the subscription box fan club! They make every month feel like a mini-holiday :)

Leave a Reply

