Red Snapper with Lemon

People always ask me how I find time to prepare home cooked meals with a toddler running around (trust me, it’s not as easy as it looks…).  My secret?  Choose recipes that are quick, healthy and delicious.  And this dish is a perfect example.

I became inspired to prepare this recipe after I received 2 lovely Meyer lemons and a fresh bunch of parsley in my box this week.  This dish has been on my “need to try” list for a while now.  And when I read that this meal could be ready in less than 20 minutes, I was sold!

What makes this dish super easy is that you simply season and bake the fish in the oven for 13 minutes.  While the fish cooked, I whipped up some mashed potatoes, and sautéed some swiss chard with shallots and chicken broth, and dinner was served in no time.

Ingredients

2 lemons

Cooking spray

4 (6-ounce) red snapper or other firm white fish fillets

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon paprika

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

2 tablespoons butter, softened

1 1/2 teaspoons chopped fresh herbs (such as rosemary, thyme basil, and parsley)

Preparation

1.  Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

2.  Cut 1 lemon into 8 slices.  Place slices, in pairs, on a rimmed baking sheet coated with cooking spray.  Grate remaining lemon to get 1 teaspoon lemon rind; set aside.  Reserve lemon for another use.

3.  Place 1 fillet on top of each pair of lemon slices.  Combine salt, paprika, and pepper; sprinkle evenly over fish.  Bake at 425 degrees F for 13 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork or until desired degree of doneness.

4.  While fish bakes, combine reserved lemon rind, butter, and herbs in a small bowl.

5.  Place fish and lemon slices on individual serving plates; top each fillet with herbed butter, spreading to melt, if desired.

Recipe from Cooking Light Fresh Food Fast, Oxmoor House via MyRecipes.com

This dish is definitely a new household favorite.  The fish was super moist and full of flavor.  The herbed butter was a wonderful addition and a great idea I plan on incorporating into other dishes.  The hubby, who usually isn’t a huge fan of baked fish, gave it two thumbs up, and even asked for seconds!

In my house, it’s all about fast food.  And I’m not talking about the drive through.  There is nothing I love more than cooking food that is healthy and fresh with recipes that are quick and easy.  Having a busy home life doesn’t have to keep you from eating delicious home cooked meals.  The key is planning ahead.  True, I spend an inordinate amount of time on Pinterest, picking out and sorting through recipes that work for my current circumstances, but having a collection of great ideas that you can pull from helps to make meal planning a snap.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite quick and easy meals?  Any tips or tricks on how to make dinner prep a simple and enjoyable task?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Red Snapper with Lemon

  1. […] the original post here: Red Snapper with Lemon « In Her Chucks ← Top 9 Ways to Save Money and Eat Healthy — Tip […]

  2. Mmm, mmm! That looks quite tasty! I might have to try that with tilapia! :)

  3. […] Red Snapper with Lemon (inherchucks.com) […]

  4. Tammy says:

    Your photo is gorgeous. My super fast way to anything is with garlic and olive oil in a cast iron skillet. Not super original but always gets the meal to the table on time.

  5. This looks so good! You could get at least $30 for that in a restaurant!

  6. Seriously, can I just hire you to be my private chef??
    Thank you so much for joining in MTM Mondays every week!

    • inherchucks says:

      Jaime you are so sweet…I was going to ask you the same thing! Too bad we aren’t closer together otherwise we could switch off cooking for each other :)

      Thanks for hosting such an awesome party! Love everything about it…

Leave a Reply

