Leek and Goat Cheese Quiche

Leave it to my daughter to have a taste for a gourmet breakfast.  I recently introduced her to Baked Egg Soufflés from Panera Bread and now no morning meal is complete without one.  But at $5 a pop, Harper’s new habit is becoming a bit expensive.  So my neighbor suggested I make her a quiche and even hand delivered their favorite recipe to my doorstop.

Not only have I never made a quiche before, I have never tasted one either.  But when I got a lone leek in my box this week, I knew it was time to give it a try.

Lucky for me, the recipe called for a pre-made crust.  So it was as easy as picking one up at the grocery store, slapping it into a pie dish and baking it for a few minutes until it was golden brown.  The rest of the recipe was a piece of cake (or quiche…).  Pour the ingredients into the pie crust and bake.  Thirty minutes later the quiche is done with very little work.  Easy and delicious.

Ingredients

2 medium leeks, washed thoroughly and cut into 1/2-inch dice (about 2 cups)

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

2 large eggs

2 large egg yolks

3/4 cup whole milk

3/4 cup heavy cream

1/2 teaspoon table salt

1/2 teaspoon ground white pepper

pinch fresh grated nutmeg

4 ounces mild goat cheese broken into 1/2-inch pieces

1 9-inch prepared pie crust, baked until light golden brown, 5 to 6 minutes, still warm

Preparation

1.  Adjust oven rack to center position and heat oven to 375 degrees.  Sauté the white parts of the leeks in butter over medium heat until soft, 5-7 minutes.  Meanwhile, whisk all remaining ingredients except goat cheese in medium bowl.

2.  Spread goat cheese and leeks evenly over bottom of warm pie shell.  Pour in custard mixture to 1/2-inch below crust rim.  Bake until lightly golden brown and a knife blade inserted about one inch from the edge comes out clean, and center feels set but soft gelatin, 32 to 35 minutes.  Transfer quiche to rack to cool.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

Recipe from Cooks Illustrated

Now that I have one quiche under my belt, I can’t wait to try out a few more combinations.  This might become my go to for leftover CSA veggies.  It’s delicious any time of day and packed with protein.  We enjoyed ours for breakfast with a side of bacon but I look forward to having the leftovers for lunch tomorrow with a yummy side salad.

Your turn:  Do you have a favorite quiche recipe? What other ways do you like to experiment with eggs in the morning?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Tagged , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Leek and Goat Cheese Quiche

  1. I love Panera. Probably because we don’t have one here and it is always my work conference/out of town treat. Yum. I like quiche quite a bit too … that seems like a more reasonable idea for now to fix the craving. LOL

  2. Tammy says:

    I had a red pepper goat cheese quiche this morning! Yum.

  3. Very impressive for your first quiche! Looks like you nailed it because it looks wonderful and I bet it tasted great!

  4. kokostanley says:

    YUM Heather this looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

