What’s in the Box? #30

What’s in the Box? has officially left its twenties and is celebrating its 30th post!  Which means I have gushed over at least 300 fruits and veggies over the past 7 months and shared a ton of recipes.  And now you are joining me in the fun.  We had 47 links last week!  A record high :)  Thank you for continuing to link up week after week.  I appreciate your support in helping create an online CSA community.  I can’t get enough of your delicious dishes.

And now on to the great reveal…

Freaking Rainier Cherries people!!!  The most delicious gems I have ever tasted.  They are worth their weight in gold.  The bag barely made it through the picture taking.  They were gone immediately afterwards.  An entire pound, gone in seconds.  SO delicious!

Am I the only one that has never seen yellow zucchini’s before?  I mean, I have seen yellow squash, but not yellow zucchini.  Cool!  After the success of the Turkey Burgers from the last delivery of zucchini, I think we might have to enjoy another round.  Complete with homemade Zucchini Fries of course.

And since I seem to be in the mood to revisit favorite recipes, I will probably make another batch of Pork Chops and Snap Peas with Mint Julep Sauce.  Those mixed potatoes will be perfect to round out the meal.  And I just happen to have some heavy whipping cream stored in the fridge along with tons of butter.  Potatoes never tasted so good :)

For the lone leek I am looking forward to attempting my first quiche.  A friend gave me one of their favorite recipes and I can’t wait to give it a try.  What’s cool about quiches is that you can eat them for breakfast or lunch (or dinner).  I like the idea of enjoying a slice with a side salad.  By the looks of the head of romaine, there will be LOTS of side salads in my future.

The pluots will become a delicious dessert (which I promised last week).  But now that I have a house full of pluots, I can’t help but get busy.  I even purchased a small carton of ice cream to compliment my sweet treat.  It’s going to be amazing :)

I’m not planning on any fancy fate for the broccoli and spinach.  I love to enjoy both quite simply.  The broccoli will be steamed, the spinach sautéed.  They make for great side dishes.

And finally, the oranges will either end up in some fresh squeezed juice or in Freddie’s belly.  Now that he is riding his bike to work, he usually grabs one for a pre-ride snack.

Your turn:  What are some of your favorite ways to use the fruits and veggies shown?  Any special recipes, tops or tricks you’d like to share?  Looking forward to hearing your responses :)


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

49 thoughts on “What’s in the Box? #30

  1. rainier cherries! yum. We are in the “eat your weight in salad” weeks of our CSA.

  2. […] Weekend, Fresh Bites Friday, Fight Back Friday, Farm Girl Friday, Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways, What’s in the Box. Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestEmailPrintLike this:Like19 bloggers like […]

  3. Lauren says:

    Linked up! Yellow zucchini is a new one on me too — I had no idea it existed. Happy 30th, and I just want to say once again how glad I am that you maintain and actively promote this link party — it’s such a great resource!

  4. Beth says:

    Thanks for inviting me to the link party! All the stuff in your box looks great!

  5. Not a big cherry fan, but Rainiers are my one weakness. So jealous you got some! Everything looks so pretty, too! We’re still getting LOTS of greens, but that’s okay. Like everyone else, we’re eating tons of salad :)

  6. Lissa says:

    Thank you so much for the invitation to your party. When I decided to write about my first pick-up this morning, I should have realized there was a community for this sort of thing!

    I just finished gobbling up the ginger-garlic bok choy recipe I posted, and you were right, it is delicious! Now I’m trying to figure out how to use all of my salad greens as sandwich stuffers this week, since I dislike salad. I’m quite envious of your spinach – in my house that’s our pizza topper instead of cheese!

  7. Lissa says:

    Thanks so much for the link party invitation! I had no idea a CSA blog community existed -which is just silly of me. But I’m glad to have been stumbled across. :)

    You were right about the Ginger Garlic Bok Choy recipe I posted; delicious! I’m looking forward to the next experiment. In the meantime, though, I’m a little jealous of your spinach; in our house that substitutes for cheese as on homemade pizza!

  8. Linked up. My husband loves yellow squash and zucchini. I can imagine he would be thrilled with something that looks like both!

  9. […] In Her Chucks CSA link up party Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  10. All linked up. Amazing yellow Zuchini’s and oh sugar snap peas so yummy.

  11. […] about what other folks are getting in their CSA boxes this time of year? Check out the What’s in the Box? link party for this week! Spread the love!DiggFacebookRedditStumbleUponTumblrTwitterLike this:LikeOne blogger […]

  12. Kelly says:

    Linked up! Thanks for the invite. And I’m SO envious of the cherries… yum!

  13. Mason says:

    Linked up!

    I saw yellow zucchini at the farmers’ market last weekend and almost bought some because it looks so neat. It is a more vibrant yellow than the summer squash, I think.

  14. naimavanswol says:

    i love this! my CSA is all greens right now, too. i love how you call it “whats in the box”! so cool!

  15. Seeking Joyful Simplicity says:

    Oh my, this is really awesome! It’s fun seeing what everyone is getting and what they are doing with their bounty! Recipes too!

    Oh, and I had never had Rainier cherries until last year – the best for sure!

  16. Megan says:

    Thanks for introducing me to the link-up! Love that so many people are into CSAs!

  17. michads says:

    Hey there! Great blog – just linked up. Thanks for the invite. I’ll be sure to post about our CSA pickup and some of the recipes that I will be “attempting” :)

  18. ljb says:

    Thanks for inviting me to link here! I just wrote my 2nd CSA post here http://fromtheinsideoutblog.com/2012/06/17/csa-2012-week-2/ and can’t wait for week 3! I’ll be sure to write about this in my next CSA share post :)

  19. Karen says:

    Oh, the linking is a wonderful idea! I’m going to admit that I’ll likely be taking much more than receiving but hopefully someone gets a good recipe or two and a laugh from my link. Thanks again!

  20. chenamy says:

    I love your blog! I’m just 2 weeks into my first CSA experience and its great to connect with other people so I can get an idea of how to use some of these great veggies!

  21. […] post is part of a Link Party featured on the blog, In Her Chucks. Check it out for more great CSA recipes by other bloggers.  Share […]

  22. jessicajorgensen says:

    Hi! Where is your CSA from? I live in Sacramento and we just recently got two CSAs. I’m doing a locavore challenge this summer, which shouldn’t be hard at all living in California, but still… it makes me think twice about where my food is coming from.

    • inherchucks says:

      Hi Jessica, I live in central california. My CSA is a combination of a bunch of local farms. I love the idea of a locavore challenge. It is a great way to make us aware of where our food comes from. Since starting my CSA almost 2 years ago I can’t bring myself to buy any produce at the store anymore. Not only does it not taste as good but I would rather support my local farms than a large grocery store chain.

      Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to add your CSA post to my weekly CSA link party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/20/whats-in-the-box-31/. Hope to see you there :)

Leave a Reply

