Pluot Crumble

Last summer we were invited to celebrate Fourth of July at my soon to be sister-in-law Koko’s house for a barbecue.  My mom always taught me to never show up empty handed, but being that Koko’s mom is a personal chef and Koko writes a very successful food blog, I was a little intimidated to bring a dish of my own.  I mean, their food is so amazing, I kind of felt like I was bringing sand to the beach.  But being the polite guest that I am, I began searching for recipes that would be fresh, festive and summery.

At the time, I had a house full of pluots and needed to make a dish that would help me diminish my supply.  I landed on this recipe because it used the most pluots of any other (1.5 lbs!) and it looked pretty simple to make.  The result was delicious!  And the crowd was impressed :)

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup chilled (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

2 large eggs

1/3 cup heavy cream

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 pounds pluots (about 6), pitted and cut into eighths

Preparation

1.  Preheat the oven to 365 degrees F.  In a medium bowl, whisk together 1 cup sugar, salt, and flour.  Using a pastry blender, cut into the butter until the mixture resembles coarse meal.  Set aside half the mixture.  Add the cinnamon, baking powder, and 1 egg to the other half.  Mix until well blended.  Press into the bottom of a 9-inch shallow baking rush.  Bake until firm and golden brown, about 15 minutes.

2.  While the pastry is baking, whisk together 1/4 cup sugar, the remaining egg, the cream, and the almond and vanilla extracts in a small bowl; set aside.

3.  Remove the pastry from the oven, and top with pluot slices.  Pour the cream mixture over the pluots, and sprinkle with the reserved butter-flour mixture.  Sprinkle the remaining 2 tablespoons sugar, and bake until topping is golden brown and the pluots are tender, 20 to 30 minutes.  Serve warm or at room temperature with vanilla ice cream.

Recipe slightly adapted from Martha Stewart

It has been a whole year since I made this recipe and Freddie is excited that pluots are in season again.  He has been begging me to recreate the crumble ever since the barbecue.  Each bite literally melts in your mouth.  The tartness of the pluots pairs nicely with the cream filling and the crust is buttery and smooth.  I like to warm mine up just enough so that when you plop a scoop of ice cream on the top it starts to melt a little bit.  Absolute heaven.

Your turn:  What’s your favorite summer time treat?  Any barbecue recipes that you are looking forward to making this year?  Looking forward to reading your responses :)

Tagged , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Pluot Crumble

  1. kokostanley says:

    YUM it was delicious!!!! Can’t wait to have it again!

  2. Jen says:

    Yum… looks delicious! I made a similar thing last year with plums — a plum crisp from The New Best Recipes cookbook. I don’t know what the difference between a crisp and a crumble are, but I think both are really good! Here was my post about it: http://willblog4food.wordpress.com/2011/07/25/a-crisp-convert/

  3. christiana83 says:

    That sounds SO good…. I Am such a huge fan of pies, especially cherry pie. I make mine from the recipe in “the New McCall’s Cookbook”. I wish I had time to make one right now!!!

  4. I am drooling just looking at the photo. Quadruple yum.

  5. Tammy says:

    Your photos are getting better and better. What camera are you using? Food looks darn good too.

    • inherchucks says:

      Thanks Tammy! I use a Cannon Rebel. I am learning slowly but surely how to use my camera as well as the importance of natural light. It has been fun experimenting. I appreciate you noticing :)

  6. Shirley says:

    I think anybody would be glad to have a dessert like this, even professional chefs! I know I would. The ice cream melting over it looks heavenly.

  7. Looks fantastic! What a great picture too!

  8. That looks so yummy and pretty – I adore a good crumble.

  9. Piper's Run says:

    This looks yummy. I may have to give it a try :)

  10. Liz says:

    I have nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger’s Award! Thank you so much for bringing sunshine into my life! And, I think I need to make this crumble…

    http://food4five.wordpress.com/2012/06/16/sunshine-bloggers-award-and-eating-by-the-seat-of-our-pants/

  11. sybaritica says:

    I’ve never heard of plots … are they like plums?

    • inherchucks says:

      Pluots are a hybrid of apricots and plums. But I would say they are closest to plums. I have used them in many of my plum recipes and have a hard time telling the difference. They are a tad bit sweeter.

  12. […] at Short Cake / Cedar Plank Salmon / Fresh bunches of lavender/ Homemade Strawberry Ice Cream / Heather’s Pluot Crumble and Ice […]

Leave a Reply

